Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Loss of a networked machine

    Hi guys

    A Few days ago I had issues with Real VNC not connecting to a client that runs my copilot PMRJ software. I ignored it and turned it off manually by holding the switch till it turned off and then the next day I noticed when booting the sim's 3 PCs, it was not showing the PMRJ software now as active. It's loaded, Wideclient, all that software due to being correctly booted, but it's not connecting to the network, hence the reason the displays are not coming alive when I turn on the Avionics switch.

    It still works fine on the Pilot's displays- how does a PC just lose connectivity like this randomly? Im having an impossible time getting it to connect now and hope to get it sorted soon. What should I check to get it back into the network.

    BTW, the NIC is new and was working fine the other day and in My Network Places it shows it's sending data, but not recieving.

    WTD?
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Actually happens alot more than most imagine. Check your cables, ports for lights at the nic and switch. Have them? then ping the machine. Use pconfig /all in a command prompt to see what is being broadcast from the nic. If you are using DHCP, most likely got a new address and the line in your software doesn't match. Hope you get it sorted out.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    405
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Try also to "repair" network connection, with right click in network image in task bar.

    Eddie

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You have Windows XP running on the pc's?
    I've had similar connectivity problems, which (I found after a long time of troubleshooting) were caused by the Windows firewall! You might want to make sure it's disabled.
    I've even seen this happen on Windows 2003 servers... go figure.

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by vpilot View Post
    You have Windows XP running on the pc's?
    I've had similar connectivity problems, which (I found after a long time of troubleshooting) were caused by the Windows firewall! You might want to make sure it's disabled.
    I've even seen this happen on Windows 2003 servers... go figure.
    That's actually a good suggestion, because as I came out here to the hangar last night and fired up the PCs and all, the connectivity was good to go again. Strange...

    And you know, that sorta stuff only happens when you have someone over for a training flight or to show it off.
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boy, don't I know it. I had my first visitor over who was slightly pressed for time.

    I had left the sim (aircraft) running on the last shutdown. I bring up the aircraft and I had inadvertanly knocked a wire loose on the input card for the #1 throttle while working on the cockpit shell. He didn't have time for me to do a total restart so we left on two engines.

    The outcome wasn't pretty.

    Next time I'll be better prepared.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's like having a compressor stall right on rotation in that old bird. If you got it off the ground, fair play to ye.

    Hey, I figured out the problem. I THOUGHT that I had set up the network for Auto IP to be disabled but somehow it came back. I wasnt connecting on one of the clients due to it needing to be connected to the Internet/router back in the house vs. just the LAN in the hangar.

    Sorted for now!
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

Similar Threads

  1. Using Multiple joysticks on networked Computers
    By ak49er in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-31-2011, 10:11 PM
  2. New CNC Machine
    By mondo50m in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-07-2010, 03:16 AM
  3. Loss of 'Select Flight' and 'Save Flight' MSFS
    By Tomlin in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 11:30 AM
  4. Networked Computer
    By PilotSergio in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 09:06 AM
  5. Cockpit instruments on networked computers
    By Paul G in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-22-2007, 12:11 PM