Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Project Magenta Engine Start logics

    Hi,

    Should I be able to start, say, engine #2 if I have selected "Ign L" as opposed to either "Both" or "Ign R"? One would think not, however, I am. Is this an error in to logics?? Also, should I be able to start either engine without the appropriate engine bleed air open? Again, I can. Comments?

    Jim

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    What aircraft are you dealing with?
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by jimthomasjohnston View Post
    Hi,

    Should I be able to start, say, engine #2 if I have selected "Ign L" as opposed to either "Both" or "Ign R"? One would think not, however, I am. Is this an error in to logics?? Also, should I be able to start either engine without the appropriate engine bleed air open? Again, I can. Comments?

    Jim
    Does the same for me and does seem like an error in logic.

    Maurice

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I wouldn't think you'd get a succesful start without a bleed open somewhere.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Me again,

    The aircraft is a 737-700.

    Jim

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Strijen (NL)
    Posts
    99
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    "Ign L" as opposed to either "Both" or "Ign R

    is only used for "saving", not to wear out the ignition and you can easily start engine 1 with ignition set to Right.

  7. Thanks mauriceb thanked for this post
  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by jimthomasjohnston View Post
    Should I be able to start, say, engine #2 if I have selected "Ign L" as opposed to either "Both" or "Ign R"? One would think not, however, I am. Is this an error in to logics??
    Yes, you can, it is not an error. There are two ignition circuits in each engine. "Both" is used for emergency re-starts, in flight, in case one circuit is out. Otherwise pilots are encouraged to use Left and Right alternately on the start-up proceudre of each leg or each separate flight. This ensures any problems are detected early, on the ground.

    Also, should I be able to start either engine without the appropriate engine bleed air open?
    I always thought the Engine bleed air had to be closed to start it, as else the air being forced through it to turn the blades would mostly go straight out again. However, it seems that the outlet might remain closed automatically until the engine starts, making the switch position irrelevant at start. I leave them off till the engine starts, then turn the APU bleed off.

    What is important is the source of air used to drive the starting process, and normally that would be the APU bleed. The only alternative is an external source of air, but I don't think pmSystems allows for that (though it may well do).

    Regards

    Pete

Similar Threads

  1. fsx 737-800 engine start
    By UKV1342 in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2011, 06:17 AM
  2. engine start
    By Mac in forum MyCockpit Member Meetings
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 07:36 AM
  3. Engine start
    By sas550 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-16-2007, 03:12 PM
  4. Engine 2 start problem
    By bindook in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-24-2007, 05:54 AM
  5. Engine start
    By 3202b in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2007, 06:33 AM