Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    TC690 Turbo Commander, first build

    Today was the day, I finally started work on my cockpit. It was great seeing it start to take shape, it's been cramped up inside my head now for quite sometime.

    This first photo is the left side panel display, there's a lot of editing to do yet but it's a start.

    IMG_0530.jpg

    This is the glare shield, I used hardboard and I'm hoping that it will relax a little over time to allow me to screw it down completely and not have to worry about the screws pulling. If the hardboard doesn't relax. then I'll try Sintra board. I plan to build up the thickness of the glare shield using high density foam and fiberglass? Any thoughts on that one, I was going to do some testing with blue foam insulation? would the fiberglass resin work with that?

    IMG_0534.jpg

    This last photo is just the glare shield sitting on the panel. It took a bit to get everything balanced properly so I could take the shot but I couldn't resist seeing how the two looked together.

    IMG_0533.jpg

    Any suggestions would be great, I can tell this is going to require a lot more experimentation that I had originally thought, so far it's been great fun...

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    654
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Great build!

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Turbo Commanders are cool. I used to take care of one while working as a line boy in college earning my ratings. It was a PITA to refuel, but a really nice turboprop.

    That was always my favorite twin. And talk about LOUD! It also sits as low as a sports car.

    Good luck with your build. Can't wait to see more pictures. If the wood won't relax enough to curve around the instrument panel, there is always sheet plastic, Formica, or thin wood veneer.

    You could also try using a portable clothes steamer.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the replies and the advice. I'm happy to say that the hardboard has relaxed a great deal and shouldn't pose a problem. I should also clarify that my cockpit is going to be loosely based on the Turbo Commander I have access to a TC690 and have used cockpit measurements and guage placement from the aircraft to start the build. I highly doubt anyone would be able to recongize the cockpit as a TC690 when I'm done but I'll know what it is and that's what counts...right.

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Another BC boy!

    Is that FSXpand you are using for the cockpit?

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict Shawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kamloops, British Columbia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I put that panel together using FSpanel Studio and the default guages that came with the Veneaviones Rockwell Turbo commander. I have noticed that there are a few people from BC here in the forums, when I get this thing built I'll fire up the Bar-B-Que and have you all over for a beer.

Similar Threads

  1. Who knows about: turbo prop engine start procedures
    By bstikkel in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-30-2010, 06:39 AM
  2. Turbo Prop Sims
    By hcracingman in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2009, 11:44 AM
  3. fsbuild and flightsim commander
    By Mr. Midnight in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 09:30 AM
  4. Rockwell Turbo Commander TC690
    By Shawn in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 10:45 PM
  5. RPM problems with twins / turbo-props
    By Frédérik Bilhaut in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-18-2006, 02:18 PM