Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member 747sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    59
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    servo instruments?

    I'm kinda new and I was wondering if anyone has information such as how to home build servo instruments and how to modify servos and the best interface board to use with fs2phidgets.

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, I would suggest you read the entire thread: Burning Question but that might take a few months. So, here is a link to one of the best sources of info on that you can get.

    http://www.mikesflightdeck.com/mfdbooks.htm
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member 747sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    59
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    thanks

    Thank you, I had been looking at that but I wasn't sure whether because of my extremely tight budget but now I have had a reference on it I will buy it. but I wanted to know if there was anything else that would be handy to know. The hardware situation and calibration is my biggest worry.

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    For FS2Phidgets you use a phidget board.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member 747sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    59
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    toggles

    I know I shouldn't be posting this back on this thread but I'm too tired to bother with a new one and I can't get it out of my head. Does anyone have diagrams or really simple descriptions on how to wire circuits for toggle and bumper switches for a phidgets board.

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Its OK if you post on this thread. It might have been better to put it in a new one but its not a problem.

    Ok, I realize that this is a block diagram, but its really all you need.
    A basic switch will have two contacts on the bottom. One for Positive and one for negative. How do you know which is which? Simple. It does not matter. Just mount it so that when it is 'on' the toggle is facing up or in the case of a button, that does'nt even matter.

    How do I know where to connect it on the interface board?
    Well, there are way too many interface boards out there to give details on that but all of them should come with a simple diagram that shows you where the positive and negative ('ground' or 'earth' depending on your area of the world) terminals are. Simply connect your wires there and you should be all set. (I know you said Phidgets, which one?)

    Now, some hardware will suggest you use a diode or a capacitor in-line on your circut. For just a few switches or buttons, this is not a requirement, but it helps with 'ghosting' which some interface boards have problems with. If that is the case, Then they should provide a simple circuit diagram like the one I placed here to show you where the components should go.

    Hope that helps.

    Questions?
    Comments?
    Anyone?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member 747sim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    59
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I found a complex circuit from desktop aviator ( http://desktopaviator2.tripod.com/In...0/image015.gif ) but there are many different diagrams and I dont understand really what to do. I have a phidgets 8/8/8 and I thought it would be the same as connecting one to that as it would be on a usb-20 button interface from desktop aviator

  8. #8
    10+ Posting Member venenoso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SCJO
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,
    I saw your post and question , I attached some pics from my engine cluster , it is in the final stage (paint here and there , and lights ) this works with hispapaneles gears and opencockpits USB Servo card , all under SIOC , for me it is the best and inexpensive way to do this. hope this could help you.

    regards
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. Thanks Matt Olieman, Joe Cygan thanked for this post
  10. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That is an ingenious idea for setting up instrument clusters of like-gauges.

    A word of warning though. That grease can be absorbed by the wood and cause it to swell.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  11. #10
    10+ Posting Member venenoso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    SCJO
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,
    this is vaseline , and used on purpose , I don't think it could be absorbed by the wood , also my hand skills are very bad so I decided on this materials and a lot of cianocrilato help.

    regards.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 180 degree servo acts as 90 degress servo
    By ke6jzs in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 06:11 PM
  2. 737 instruments in other PC
    By mab1990 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2010, 08:14 AM
  3. Boards and Instruments
    By Captain825 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-13-2009, 09:03 AM
  4. GA instruments - new program!
    By Hans Krohn in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-06-2007, 04:26 PM
  5. servo instruments
    By Monarch161 in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-03-2004, 04:13 PM