Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    PMDG744 integration

    Hi

    In a nutshell can the PMDG 744 integrate with PM software? I dont own PM stuff but would like to use their screens with the PMDG logic, is this possible, I am guessing not

    regs

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    In one word - negative, not at all.
    As PMDG wanted to include all correct logics in their product, they completely rewrote the sim. PMDG B744 is on own program inside FS, which is used mainly for the enviroment and weather.
    Even the flightdynamics are completely changed comparing to stock aircraft and the airfile can't be used outside the PMDG.

    B. Rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member



    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    18
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok thanks for the info, I simply cannot justify the price of PMs software, its fantastic but too pricey for me. I was hoping to just buy the glass cockpit and use the PMDG to control it but that was probably a bit naive! I will have to go down the route of breaking the PMDG out on multi monitors

    regs

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FS Panel Studio is a lot cheaper and you get to use any gauge or display you like.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by michelmvd View Post
    In one word - negative, not at all.
    As PMDG wanted to include all correct logics in their product, they completely rewrote the sim. PMDG B744 is on own program inside FS, which is used mainly for the enviroment and weather.
    Even the flightdynamics are completely changed comparing to stock aircraft and the airfile can't be used outside the PMDG.

    B. Rgds
    Michel
    Hi Michel,

    I've just come across this thread having ordered the PMDG747-400 earlier this evening.

    I successfully fly the PMDG737 series using PM software. I don't use any of the PMDG panels or its CDU/MCP. It seems strange that the 737 can integrate with PM but not the 747.

    So if I load the 747 without any panel loaded you're saying the aircraft could not be controlled by the PM CDU/MCP?

    If that's definitely the case then providing I don't open the packaging I can return it for a refund. How disappointing.

  6. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That is correct. If you try and remove the panels in the 747, the plane is not flyable. You can not modify it the way you can the 737 to use PM...
    Bob Reed

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    That is correct. If you try and remove the panels in the 747, the plane is not flyable. You can not modify it the way you can the 737 to use PM...
    Thanks Bob. I couldn't cancel the order before it's despatched but if I return it unopened I'll get a refund. You'd think that with such a wonderful aircraft they'd have been happy to work with PM.

    Does the LDS767 work okay? If so I might consider that instead.

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I can not speak for that AC as I have never tried it.
    Bob Reed

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict Ray Proudfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    309
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Okay, thanks Bob. Perhaps someone who does have it could comment.

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Ray Proudfoot View Post
    You'd think that with such a wonderful aircraft they'd have been happy to work with PM.
    well maybe not, since the PMDG 747 logics are far (FAR) better than the 747 logics from PM

    Does the LDS767 work okay? If so I might consider that instead.
    why would you want to use level-D with PM ?
    Again, the Level-D's logics for the 767 are far more acurate than PM. With Level-D's SDK and Nico Kaan's Leeksecon you can interface all essential systems of the level-d 767, you can undock the screens and use them on a multi-monitor system.

    Dont get me wrong. I LOVE PM, but for the 737 !

    Unfortunately you cant use the PMDG 747 for a fully interfaced flightdeck and you cant combine PMDG's perfect logics with PM's glass screens, but in case of the level-D 767 you CAN fully interface and you DONT need PM.

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sound Integration
    By coolmanak in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2010, 09:07 PM
  2. Opencockpits A320 MCDU + vasFMC Integration
    By AlexW in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-11-2008, 03:48 PM