Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    LED64 - Newbie Help Needed

    Hi All
    Have just got my LED64 and am using Phidget 21 v 21.4 and FS2Phidget v 4.3.7.
    So far I have only got the landing gear LED's working (still got a wow moment). I am now trying to get LED's to light for "flaps Transit" and "Flaps Extended". Can someone give me a "Phidget for Dummies" walk through for this - I haven't a clue.
    As an extra when I try to "calibrate" - with Flaps Handle selected.I am getting a run time 380 "invalid property vaue" error quickly followed by the programme becoming unresponsive and having to close it.
    I have many other queries but will try to get this one solved first.
    Bill

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Bill,

    It should be as simple as selecting the port and pulling down the pulldown menu to select the action. I am sure someone will be able to help you, I am using my LED64's through PMSYSTEMS, so I can't really help you with fs2phidgets.

    But good luck, and good choice.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Just to clarify. I am using the PMDG737-600/700. I have downloaded and read the FS2Phidgets Manual.
    For LE flaps transit and LE flaps extended there is no particular item in the pull down menu provided and I am hoping to create one (just as in the nose gear lights) by setting on/off zones as the flaps are extended.
    Bill
    Last edited by Holclo; 06-27-2008 at 04:41 AM. Reason: clarification

  4. #4
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bill,

    Flaps handle offset is intended to be used with analog inputs.
    MS-FS and most flight sim software does not model the leading edge devices .

    Hence, there is no offset in FSUIPC, and hence nothing in the fs2phidget pull downs.

    You could build it into pmSystems - if Thomas has not done so already.

    However, on the Boeing 737 aircraft itself the flaps consist of both leading edge devices and trailing edge devices.
    These are usually deployed in syncronization.
    Definitely, not instantaneously when you set the required position on the flaps lever - another good reason not to use the flap lever.
    I would recommend using left or right flap deflection.

    Left and right flaps usually deploy symmetrically.
    Is kind of hairy when only one side deploys on final approach.
    Is almost like a Vmc rollover.
    You may sometimes see an NTSB final report that reads:
    "Aircraft rolled inverted and impacted terrain on final approach due to asymmetric flap extension".
    We are going to assume your aircraft is going to be behaving properly. There are systems on aircraft that detect asymmetry and either disable the flaps hydraulics and/or retract the devices.
    Hence, the dual pointers on the flap gauge.

    For the LE EXT annunciator, play around with extending and retracting flaps while FSVariable is running. This will permit you to see that values for the right or left flaps. Calibrate to the range you need.

    For the LE IN TRANSIT you could you use the "rate" function when calibrating. This value is set to something other than zero when the flaps are in motion. Again, calibrate to value that will work for you.

    Hope this helps.
    Regards,
    Alan.

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Alan, I really appreciate your reply. I will play around with this and see what happens but I bet I will be back!!!
    Bill

  6. #6
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That's the great thing about this web site:
    No "statute of limitations" on how many times one may ask for help.

    I have had great tips from other sim builders who are on this site.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    When I choose flap deflection left or right and try to calibrate I still get the "run time 380 "invalid property vaue" error" and the programme closes.
    Bill

  8. #8
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bill,

    I will have a look at that error on my system.
    Just recently upgraded to latest version of phidgets.msi

    In the interim, send me an email at alan@coconutair.com
    There is good chance I will need to send you an updated version that fixes bug.

    Regards,
    Alan

  9. #9
    builder
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    587
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bill,

    Had a quick loook.
    There is a bug in the program.
    Program does not perform rigorous type check on the FS Variable.
    Here is a quick workaround:

    - Fire up FSVariable and open the ini file containing the left flap deflection.
    ini file should be FSVariables437.ini on your system.
    - Select FLAPS_DEFLECTION_LEFT from the "Variable" pull down.
    - Change FS Variable type to "Range of values".
    - Change the low value from -16383 to 0.
    - Press "Save" button.

    Fire up fs2phidget and assign FLAPS_DEFLECTION_LEFT.
    That should take care of the error message and allow you to configure.

    Regards,
    Alan.

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    N Ireland
    Posts
    288
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Alan
    Again thank you for your time and help. Did as you said and am now making progress but still not complete. Will contact you via e-mail if that is OK.
    Bill

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Newbie to forum, sort of newbie to flight sim!
    By jtthorpe33 in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-27-2010, 03:44 PM
  2. Landing advice needed for newbie.......
    By Spoceto1003 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 04:34 PM
  3. LED64 for 3v KLED?
    By alkit in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-06-2005, 08:14 PM
  4. LED64 vs. 0/16/16
    By janpedersen in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-24-2005, 06:31 AM
  5. How to dim LED with LED64?
    By Jan Pemöller in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-23-2005, 06:40 AM