Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Approach phase clarification

    Hello Dodiano,
    Maybe it has been answered somewhere, but can You clarify me
    when does a pilot activate approach phase in MCDU and is there any
    exeption situation when it is activated differently?
    Many thanks!
    Oh, almost forgot... is it correct that in the beginning of take off when
    a pilot moves thrust levers to the TOGA the A/THR goes ON without pushing it?

  2. #2
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus

    Quote Originally Posted by mmakela View Post
    Hello Dodiano,
    Maybe it has been answered somewhere, but can You clarify me
    when does a pilot activate approach phase in MCDU and is there any
    exeption situation when it is activated differently?
    Many thanks!
    Oh, almost forgot... is it correct that in the beginning of take off when
    a pilot moves thrust levers to the TOGA the A/THR goes ON without pushing it?
    Hi,

    Ok the approach phase in the Book says it should be activated 15nm before th Airport or it is automatically activated if in Managed Nav at the Decel point marked with a D in a magenta Circle... Most of us, that is line pilots as a technique Crossing 10,000 when we do the 10,000 check we select 250 on the speed and immediattelly activate the Approach Phase if we activate it and it is in Manage Speed it will decel to VAPP speed!

    When the Thrust levers are moved to TOGA or Flex the Autothrust Arms itself automatically this doesn´t mean it activates itself although the Green Light on the switch turns on and A/THR is displayed in Blue on the FMa... When you take the power back at thrust reduction Altitude to the CLB detent it sets to A/THR white on the FMA that means you have now engaged the Autothrust before that it was only armed.

    Regards,

    Roberto

  3. Thanks mmakela, Deesystems thanked for this post
  4. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ...one more...

    Thank You Sir,
    just one more guestion... how do "marker" leds light up in the glare section?
    I mean those white ones with texts such as LOC, AT/THR, AP1, FD, ILS.
    Do they come up when You push batteries ON or do they have a special switch
    somewhere?
    Many thanks again!

  5. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus

    Not sure what you mean ut if you mean the Lighting of the letters in the Glare engravings and the Pushbutton engravings there is a potentioneter below the glare that lits them up!

    Regards,

    Roberto

  6. Thanks mmakela thanked for this post
  7. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Helsinki - Finland
    Posts
    151
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Very close...

    Yes, exactly those lights. Do I turn ON those lights with that potentiometer
    or is it just for dimming those lights?

  8. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus

    Just dim them! They are not turned ON or OFF!

    Regards,

  9. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Frisco, Texas
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have read somewhere that activating the approach phase before the radar altimeter turns on at 8500' causes some issues. Is this true? I am at work right now so I don't have the book in front of me to tell what it said.

  10. #8
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus

    The Radioaltimeter becomes active at 2500 feet...

    Regards,

    Roberto

  11. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Only 700' short feet from the pavement at Innsbruck!
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  12. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing Skunk Works View Post
    Only 700' short feet from the pavement at Innsbruck!
    But of course radar altimeters work on AGL not AMSL, so it's 2500' above whatever is below, whether it be LOWI's pavement or the slopes of Mont Blanc.

    Pete

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Clarification
    By warvet in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 04:39 PM
  2. Re: Activate Approach phase on A320 MCDU
    By Rob Van Leest in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 02:56 PM
  3. A320 Approach phase
    By iperne in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2007, 07:49 AM
  4. Clarification
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 06:41 AM
  5. Activate Approach phase on A320 MCDU
    By Igor Perne in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2006, 04:19 AM