Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: MIP Layout

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member JSpahn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    MIP Layout

    Hello guys & gals,

    Since the release of the Sim_Avionics software I have been mulling over ripping my pit apart and starting from scratch with a non-generic design, The 777 looks like where I want to start. There are a few of sources were I can get a pre-fab MIP but I would like to fabricate one of my own. Too pricey at the moment

    Is a resource available where I can get the dimensions for the MIP and other elements? I would like to simulate the captains side. My motivation is to keep the dimensions exact so I can use third party panels, which have nice back lighting.

    Best,
    John

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Start with the panels(buy them) and build your MIP around them..
    NOT the other way around.

    And take the monitor size that you choose into consideration too.
    After that the MIP is a breeze to figure out especially if you want it generic.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member DAL900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    St. Cloud, FL
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Also, if you plan on using "real" "korry's" , toggles and switches, remember they extend out 2-3" depending on what type the are. If the korrys are near the display (LCD screen) and you are not planning on buying 6 small displays (757/767) http://www.projectb737ng.com/193_9379.JPG you may have to move them over to make room for a lcd screen see example here [media]http://www.projectb737ng.com/wire%20mip3.jpg[/media] . Fortunately when I had my 737 I didn't have to move the korry's or switches, I was able to drop the lcd down into the sub frame. Now that I am doing a 757/767 I will not be using real korrys, I will only be losing the "press to test" function. By using an after market simulated korry, I will be able to mount it so that the back will be flush against the lcd screen with only the thickness of the wire between the MIP and lcd.
    Last edited by DAL900; 06-14-2008 at 12:59 PM. Reason: because I can

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member Lewis Simmons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I am designing a full 777 cockpit at the moment so if you hang on for a week or so, I should have a 777 MIP design that I can send to you.

    It might take a bit longer as I am planning to head over to the Air New Zealand 777 simulator to get a whole lot of measurements.
    Many Thanks,
    Lewis Simmons

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member JSpahn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks

    That would be awesome, Im in no rush right now, my vacation is coming up and work has been busy.

    What kind of monitors are you planning on using? I have 4 12.1" lcd panels but 15's are inexpensive enough these days.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member Lewis Simmons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Im looking to use the same. Basically once the design is finished I do a virtual test fit of the monitors and then start work (virtually) on fastening the monitors so that once the structure is sent to be cut, I will have pretty much everything sorted.
    Many Thanks,
    Lewis Simmons

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Lewis
    777 or 787

    ?????????
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member Lewis Simmons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    74
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ha through a verbal agreement with a company I can't tell you what is happening at the moment but for a very important reason the 787 design is slowing down and the 777 racing ahead.

    But I will try and get a pic of the new 777 MIP design within the next 24 hours.
    Many Thanks,
    Lewis Simmons

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by DAL900 View Post
    Also, if you plan on using "real" "korry's" , toggles and switches, remember they extend out 2-3" depending on what type the are. If the korrys are near the display (LCD screen) and you are not planning on buying 6 small displays (757/767) [media]http://www.projectb737ng.com/193_9379.JPG[/media] you may have to move them over to make room for a lcd screen see example here [media]http://www.projectb737ng.com/wire%20mip3.jpg[/media] . Fortunately when I had my 737 I didn't have to move the korry's or switches, I was able to drop the lcd down into the sub frame. Now that I am doing a 757/767 I will not be using real korrys, I will only be losing the "press to test" function. By using an after market simulated korry, I will be able to mount it so that the back will be flush against the lcd screen with only the thickness of the wire between the MIP and lcd.
    What he said. The Korry indicators and the APD are actually helping to hold the 17" monitor in place in my 727. It's tighter than Presley's pants behind the panel and I was darn lucky the monitor frame wasn't any larger than it was or I'd still be flying a desktop with a 727 MIP with empty instrument holes.

    The engine stack is another matter entirely. I have a guy in California perusing through thousands of monitors to find the correct size for me all because I will not part with the original indicators.

    It'll probably cost me my first-born.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie makoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Finland / Philippines
    Posts
    156
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by JSpahn View Post
    Hello guys & gals,

    Since the release of the Sim_Avionics software I have been mulling over ripping my pit apart and starting from scratch with a non-generic design, The 777 looks like where I want to start. There are a few of sources were I can get a pre-fab MIP but I would like to fabricate one of my own. Too pricey at the moment

    Is a resource available where I can get the dimensions for the MIP and other elements? I would like to simulate the captains side. My motivation is to keep the dimensions exact so I can use third party panels, which have nice back lighting.

    Best,
    John

    Hi John,

    I have start to make triple7 also and got dimensions from this great page.
    www.project777.com , downloads


    Marco

  11. Thanks JSpahn thanked for this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 737 overhead layout
    By dmoblay in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-26-2012, 01:15 PM
  2. Layout of the FMC tutorial
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum lekseecon Q&A and Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 06:59 PM
  3. Possible layout?
    By Spatate in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-19-2009, 05:39 AM
  4. Layout change
    By mpl330 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 09:16 AM

Tags for this Thread