Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: FS2004 or FSX

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FS2004 or FSX

    Yes I know endles discussion but I don't seem to be able to make the choise. I have both of them and I have to decide which one I will use for my sim. I think that FS2004 is more framerate friendly then FSX so I will need to decide if it is worth to use FSX, especially wat is better the in FS2004.
    Wat are your experiences, wat are the good reasons to choose FSX?

    I will be running Vista on all computers normally.

    I also don't want to install both of them to keep the machines as fast as possible, and it is allready complicated enough as it is.

    I allready looked around on reviews and tested a bit myself, but having information from you guys is the best resource there is

    Thanks !
    [

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm FSX all the way. It was worth it.
    I was running both, but after SP1 and Acceleration there was no comparison.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    canton ga.
    Posts
    69
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you are going to run Vista then FSX is the best choice.

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have to vote for FS9 mostly because the Dreamfleet 727 doesn't yet exist for FSX.

    I also don't care for Vista and ordered a brand new system with XP Pro installed from NewEgg.com

    I would have had to spend twice what I did to get the same performance for FSX that I'm getting with FS9, and software add-on's were a big issue with me.

    I did not want to purchase all of my scenery again for those that were, or are available, and what would I do without a compatible 727? My sim would be on indefinate hold.

    Surely this debate occured earlier when FS8 vs FS9 was released too. But back then, I'm pretty sure XP was available and not a new operating system as well as a new FS product.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    436
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Gooday Marnix, only one way to go, and that is FSX. I would also suggest to stay with XP at this stage as there is no advantage to go with Vista. If you check out all the posts by Nick Needham, you will get the best results from XP. As we all know this can change, and especcially with new CPU's on the way later this year, but unfortunately you have to make a descision now and obviously this will be different in 6 months time. We just never catch up.
    You can now buy good value CPU's and video cards etc. at a reasonable price at the moment which will run FSX extremely well provided you tune your system well.
    Cheers.................Brian W.

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member mgdaviso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    15
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    right now I am sticking with FS9 on WinXP as I have invested a significant amount of cash in the add-ons (photo scenery, CRJ, British airports, flight environment, traffic, etc) to upgrade to FSX would involved a CPU upgrade too..... as Brian points out below, you can never catch up - unless you have a lot of funds.

    I had the same thing with FS2000/2002 - bought loads of add-ons and then had to trade up.

    I've tried FSX on my home PC and it crashed it several times so I have decided in the mean time to stick with FS9 as I am not at a point where I need or want to upgrade my home PC just for flying.
    Cheers
    Mike

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job mauriceb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Gravenhurst, Ontario
    Posts
    544
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you can afford a PC that can run FSX, then there is no question here...FSX all the way. I was very reluctant to switch at first, and I still have some issues with FSX on a flight deck which were not there in FS9, but there is no way I can ever go back (I used to have both on my PC but I removed FS9 altogether now).

    Maurice
    ps I'm running FSX with WinXP and it runs very well, but I would still advise to get the fastest hardware you can afford.

  8. #8
    Heli Builder fweinrebe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Namibia
    Posts
    325
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I heard that Windows XP SP3 runs 100% faster that Vista SP1. (CNET.Com). I will be staying with XP Pro and FS2004 for a while. Performance is all about CPU and graphic card in Flight Sim. Oh and enough RAM.

    Link to CNET article: http://news.cnet.com/Windows-XP-outs...tml?tag=news.1

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok, it will be FSX then.
    I only installed vista on 1 pc so far, so I still can switch back to XP. I am using pentium 4 pc with 2 gig. I need 3 of these as I use Wideview.
    Good tip about XP instead of Vista. I was going to use Vista because I figured that FSX would run faster on this.
    [

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The CNET article is a bit of a worry - but it is out-of-date. I read a recent article by another tech site (trying to remember the reference) which tested XP-SP3 against the actual Vista-SP!. They found that the performance is pretty much equal now.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can I run FS2004 without the 4th CD ?
    By Nick1150 in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-31-2011, 12:47 PM
  2. How do I set up three projectors for FS2004?
    By ddimm in forum Projector Solutions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2010, 07:10 PM
  3. FS2004 Question
    By richard hutchinson in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 04:12 PM
  4. fs2004 setup
    By Drewsta in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-2009, 06:13 PM
  5. Frasca and Fs2004?
    By spitfire9 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2007, 06:08 PM