Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: 42" Lcd X2

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie riche543's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    42" Lcd X2

    Hey Guys , Would Triple head 2 go work on 2 42" 106cm LCD/Plasma tv,s
    Hope so cuz im limited for height for a projector?? I have a ATI 3870 X2 Video card 3x DVI outputs..

    Cheers..

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ah you just answered my question I asked in your previous post. The answer to this question is Yes, as long as your LCD/Plasma has a VGA or HDMI input. You can get a HDMI to DVI adaptor cable to plug straight in. Get 3 LCD's if you can otherwise you'll have a big black border in the middle of your view. Big expense though and many others put up with it arguing that it simulates the centre post on your windscreen.

    Other options are a centre projector and later on (when funds allow) two screens for side views.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie riche543's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for ya reply .. LOL i think were yo,yo ing between post,s here im uploading pics at the same time... Cheers

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use 2 42" Plasma screens and it works well but.. THere is an issue with the center of the screen. On approach it is hard to see the runway once you are lined up. Just a heads up.
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Don't know if they are available in Australia, but using rear projection televisions in stead of LCD's is a good option + they are bigger and not so expensive.
    The DLP versions are ideal for simming.
    Unfortunately in Europe they don't make them anymore and shipping from the US is not an option.
    [

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MANASSAS, VA USA
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Be careful! Plasma Screens do not work with Vista OS!

    Radcliffe

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    211
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Do NOT use plasma displays! LCD is cheaper and gives just as good image! The disadvantage for Plasma displays is the risk of "burning in" the image.

    Lucky me - I work at a store that sells home electronics. I've been fiddling around with the idea of 3 32" LCD screens. But - I guess I'll end up with 3 LCD monitors of some sort. I have a big space issue. Not a big problem, really - the best parts are INSIDE the sim.

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I just bought a 32" HD LCD TV. It's looking might nice for the sim, but I can't afford two more of these.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie pdpo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    belgium
    Posts
    280
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    just a small tought... when you have a video card with two outputs and you are thinking of putting only two screens.. why the need for the triplehead2go?
    I dont think thats needed anymore for such config....

    Greetz Peter

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie riche543's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    264
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah good point im sure there is a reason , not owning triplehaed2go i wouldnt know .. from what i gather , TH2G streches the image across the 2 monitors making it 1 big image , like a sort of video card in itself, Would like to know if i can doit without TH2G.. My Powercolor 3870 x2 Has 3 DVI outputs onit????

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Matt Ford "Builder Of The Month" Excellent Interview
    By Matt Olieman in forum MyCockpit News and Announcements
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 05:55 PM
  2. Real Flight Simulators versus PC "Games" - the eternal debate...
    By ryanf in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-01-2010, 06:32 PM
  3. Fantastic Airshow in Germany "Hahnweide2009"with Spit,B-17,Focke Wulf...
    By Georg Schneider in forum General Aircraft Operations and News Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-07-2009, 04:15 PM
  4. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-05-2008, 12:39 PM
  5. Gwyn Perrett's Article "Creating a glass cockpit display"
    By Matt Olieman in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-31-2007, 08:20 PM