Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Rotary encoders co-op

    I'm buying some single (mechanical) rotary encoders (with pushbutton). Anyone on this forum, want any and interested in splitting the order? If I order 100 I can get them at about $5 a piece, but I cannot justify getting 100 for myself. Saying that, being able to justify purchases for my sims is something that I haven't been able to do in a long time

    If anyone is interested let me know.

    Thanks

    Paul
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    encoders

    hi paul.....

    you may be interested in these.
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/12mm-Rotary-En...742.m153.l1262
    2 bit gray encoder with push switch and he even gives you the knobs (which you can throw away if you dont want them).
    i am using these with the BU0836X controller from Leo Bodnar and they are a direct comparison to the CTS288 which opencockpits sell. Ok, they are not as 'robust' as the CTS288, but look at the price. i have ordered twice, no problems with delivery and they do exactly what it says on the tin.
    may save you a buck or two.
    regards from wales.... ian

  3. Thanks Paul G thanked for this post
  4. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Ian,

    Thanks for the recommendation. That's a pretty good price considering you get 10 for the cost. I'm presuming that you've had no failures so far. Is the free 'knob' of any value?

    What you using for plugging the encoder into?

    Thanks

    Paul
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    rotary encoders

    hello paul.......
    ok i have 20 of these (haven't used them all yet) and every one has worked. no quality issues at all. i buy quite a lot from this company and the price is always great (especially LED's) and usually here in about 7 days.
    i'm connecting these to Leo Bodnar's BU0836X card. the inputs can be configured for
    either buttons and switches or rotary encoders using the utility he provides on his website at www.leobodnar.com .
    real neat setup and they work well together.
    re: knobs....i suppose they would be fine for radio's or apparatus, but cockpits, not really. but they are free )
    have a great week and regards from wales..... ian

  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job



    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    867
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ian,
    Thanks for he imfo.Im not sure that these will work directly with iocards
    master card input.I think others have tried and they were not that great.
    Les
    P.S. Imfo came from a post on IOcards Forum.Listed that exact part number.

  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    166
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ian,
    What a useful site indeed!
    I have been paying "over the odds" for some of these device so I will give it a try.

    Bill.

Similar Threads

  1. Rotary encoders
    By mondo50m in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-23-2010, 05:50 PM
  2. Rotary Encoders
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 06:04 PM
  3. Rotary Encoders
    By PittsburghLever in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 04:59 AM