Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ENG 1GEN and ENG2 GEN

    Can you tell me please whether ENG1 GEN and ENG2 GEN (on the overhead) are turned on before engine start or after engine start? The same question for the APU GEN (before or after APU start).

    Thank you very much,

    Darren Sugden

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict AchillesP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Greece, Thessaloniki
    Posts
    381
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Suggy View Post
    Can you tell me please whether ENG1 GEN and ENG2 GEN (on the overhead) are turned on before engine start or after engine start? The same question for the APU GEN (before or after APU start).

    Thank you very much,

    Darren Sugden
    Hi

    Generators produce power that comes from engines. So, first start your apu, then apu gen and then engines and then engines generators

    Achilles

  3. Thanks Suggy thanked for this post
  4. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thank you for taking the time to answer,

    Darren

  5. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Suggy View Post
    Can you tell me please whether ENG1 GEN and ENG2 GEN (on the overhead) are turned on before engine start or after engine start? The same question for the APU GEN (before or after APU start).

    Thank you very much,

    Darren Sugden

    In My aircraft, we turn the Gens on before the start. The engine start interlock won't work unless they are in the on position, actually in fact, all three Gen switches to off, places the Falcon 900 into ditch mode, and literally kills ever thing electrical in the aircraft to prevent explosion when crashing.

    Just my tidbit.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks, Trevor.

    I'm just curious as to the flow of checks on the overhead of the A320.

    If I start the engines without the generator buttons turned 'on' then as soon as the engines start I get an orange warning on the EICAS informing me that the generators are off. Because of this, it leads me to believe that the GEN buttons are actually switched 'on' before engine start.

    Dodiano.........?

    Thanks trevor,

    Darren Sugden

  7. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus

    Quote Originally Posted by Suggy View Post
    Thanks, Trevor.

    I'm just curious as to the flow of checks on the overhead of the A320.

    If I start the engines without the generator buttons turned 'on' then as soon as the engines start I get an orange warning on the EICAS informing me that the generators are off. Because of this, it leads me to believe that the GEN buttons are actually switched 'on' before engine start.

    Dodiano.........?

    Thanks trevor,

    Darren Sugden
    Hi Darren,

    Donīt confuse the Switch in the Overhead if you see the legend it says OFF and FAULT that means it is an automatic system you donīt have to turn it On it automatically comes in after 58% N2 and 48% N2 on the older planes... The switch fnction if Dark it means the system is working automatically if it lights white you turned off the generator and if FAULT appears amber is either that the engines are shutdown on ground or that the generator has failed in flight or any phase with the proper engine running... And it is ECAM not EICAS... EICAS is on the Brown Cockpits... Actually that message shouldnīt appear with the Engines Off in ground it should only appear if they fail in flight... Can you post a pic on where does that message appear?? What software are you using??

    Regards,

    Roberto
    Last edited by dodiano; 05-30-2008 at 12:45 PM. Reason: Meant N2 instead of N1

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Many thanks Roberto for replyng. My initial question was prompted by the free Mike ray download 'Cold and Dark - Flight simmer's Dillemma'. In his flow the APU GEN switch is switched on after APU start. That got me thinking because I thought it was switched 'on' even before APU start becasue as you say, it isan automatic system.

    The software i am using is AST's overhead and ECAM software. I suppose the logic of the software is not completely 100% precise. I suppose it is writeen such that if the GEN is turned of, it is assuming you are in the air.

    Again, many thanks for the reply,

    Draren Sugden

  9. #8
    MyCockpit Support Staff dodiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    El Salvador
    Posts
    992
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Airbus

    Quote Originally Posted by Suggy View Post
    Many thanks Roberto for replyng. My initial question was prompted by the free Mike ray download 'Cold and Dark - Flight simmer's Dillemma'. In his flow the APU GEN switch is switched on after APU start. That got me thinking because I thought it was switched 'on' even before APU start becasue as you say, it isan automatic system.

    The software i am using is AST's overhead and ECAM software. I suppose the logic of the software is not completely 100% precise. I suppose it is writeen such that if the GEN is turned of, it is assuming you are in the air.

    Again, many thanks for the reply,

    Draren Sugden
    By the GEN is turned off it is assuming you are in the Air you mean the APU?? The APU gen works the same as the Engines no need to turn ON and OFF... Actually on PRE-Flight you donīt turn that many switches to On in the Plane except for a couple... Since most systems are always in Automatic you donīt need to turn each system off...

    Regards,

    Roberto

  10. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie Suggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hull, England
    Posts
    153
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes, I understand fully!

    It gets rather boring without having to press a lot of switches Perhaps I was looking for an excuse to do so! More to the point, having spent lots and lots of money on the overhead, you find out that it doesn't do much really (lol).

    Al the very best,

    Darren

  11. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Fly the 727 sometime. You'll have more switches and knobs to play with than you'll know what to do with.

    It's strictly a manual setup.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING