Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member 767300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wexford Ireland
    Posts
    148
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Project Magenta Can this be done?

    Hi guys,

    Im just wondering if there is a way either through the Glass cockpit software or pmsystems to get the displays to blank or go dim and then brighten back to normal after engine start and the generators switch from apu to engine gennys? This happens on the 767.

    James

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It actually happens lots in most aircraft, especially when the start switch is thrown.

    It would be a Neat effect, I would connect your monitor power supplies through relays attached to your start buttons. That would work excellent.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. Thanks 767300, Tomlin thanked for this post
  4. #3
    75+ Posting Member 767300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wexford Ireland
    Posts
    148
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Trevor, great idea. It would be really neat if the software could do it.

    James

  5. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by 767300 View Post
    Thanks Trevor, great idea. It would be really neat if the software could do it.

    James

    The Level D 767 software does it....... but I take it you are probably not using it if you are on PM.

    Regards,
    Henry

  6. #5
    75+ Posting Member 767300's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wexford Ireland
    Posts
    148
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing

    Hi Henry,

    Ya PM since the early days. Have the LDS on one laptop.

    James

  7. #6
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    306
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You can do this programming in pmSystems (in the logic file). Just set the displays to dim or turn off (find the appropriate offsets in the PM documentation) when the engine switches (again, look for offsets) are actuated.
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  8. Thanks 767300 thanked for this post
  9. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    AS far as I remember, there is a key command in the GC menu or cfg that allows displays to shut off and they come back progressively on.
    Linking that to engine start should be doable...
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  10. Thanks 767300 thanked for this post
  11. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Pretty shure FSUIPC can do that....will check.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  12. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, I would like to know how to make the displays turn OFF once the Avionics Master Switch is turned OFF. When I turn ON the BATT and then the MASTER AVION switch, the displays spring to life. Turning them off only turns OFF the GF166 and the reception of ATC/ILS/Navaid data on the displays.

    Thanks,
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  13. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    It actually happens lots in most aircraft, especially when the start switch is thrown.

    It would be a Neat effect, I would connect your monitor power supplies through relays attached to your start buttons. That would work excellent.

    Trev
    Sorry, but this looks like last century solution...
    I don't know what PM you have, but PM regional Jet nicely goes from dim to off and from off to brighten simply via Master Avionic Switch. All you have to do is write 0 or 1 to 0x2E80 offset.
    Works great, looks nice and I think works better than playing with power supplies, relais and all that "hardcore" stuff.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast