Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    306
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Arrow Instructor Station

    Hi folks!

    I am pretty much 3/4ths down the road programming a simple but useful Instructor Station for my A320 sim in .NET language. Basically, I am using Project Magenta and FS2004.

    To this point, the features I have implemented are roughly the following:

    - Aircraft set for approaches (starting up systems automatically in pmSystems, positioning in FS, setting FCU appropriately, etc.)
    - General data: position, altitude, heading, bank, pitch, elevator, frame rate, link to FSUIPC, etc.
    - Pushback capability.
    - Network control (automatic start-up of PCs with Wake On LAN, etc.)
    - Some display failures implemented (ie. captain PFD screen lost, etc.)

    I am thinking about implementing the following features:
    - Add more failures (probably implementing ECAM actions programmed in pmSystems), like Flaps, Spoilers, gear lever, hydraulic and elec systems, etc.
    - Add some basic environmental control (ie. rain, winds, etc.)
    - Fuel system: include a fuel calculator.

    I would like your input guys for any features you might think or know are useful for an application of this type.

    Thanks in advance!
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If I was you, I would download the PM Instrustor station Demo, there you can see what they have but things that you are missing are.

    Generate TCAS ALERT

    Change Weather settings

    engine failures,

    Pushback control Just as a start.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    306
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Trev,

    Thanks for your reply.
    I had already thought about the 3 last things (actually, I already have pushback implemented).

    But about TCAS ALERT, so you mean generate an alert when there isn't supposed to be one?
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    306
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie QF6228's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    199
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That looks really good

    Damien

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by luisgordo View Post
    Hi Trev,

    Thanks for your reply.
    I had already thought about the 3 last things (actually, I already have pushback implemented).

    But about TCAS ALERT, so you mean generate an alert when there isn't supposed to be one?
    No you can actually create a TCAS contact X number of miles in front of your aircraft, and have it above, below, or at your altitude.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by luisgordo View Post
    That is really Sweet stuff. Have you created exterior files, so that one could chance the graphics in the program to suit their aircraft?

    Is this instructor station kind of generic software or designed for Airbus only?


    Looks amazing though.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    306
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks!

    Well, the major part of the software is quite generic, as basicly it only interfaces with FS2004. However, there are parts like the automated start-up, which communicate directly with Project Magenta's pmSystems and to the FCU, having the A320 in view (as it is what I am building). The network part is totally customizable to your own needs.

    The 737 could be easily implemented (at least the pmSystems part, as I own the PM software). The MCP could be done fairly easily as well, but I would need the input of an PM MCP user to develop this...
    There are also other aircraft-specific parts, which are the failures section, and the Fuel/Load. These would also be fairly easy to develop. However, following this path would make me think about selling a license for the program, since it would require extra time I really do not need to spend for my own sim. Could be an option. Depends on how many people could be interested in it.

    As for the TCAS alert, I suppose you would need to have AI traffic enabled in FS for this to work? I will explore the options...

    Thanks for your ideas. I am open to any other ones you may have.
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

Similar Threads

  1. INSTRUCTOR STATION v1.50 RELEASED !!!
    By luisgordo in forum MSFS ADD-ONs General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 12:37 PM
  2. New Instructor Station
    By Trevor Hale in forum MyCockpit News and Announcements
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-30-2008, 08:46 PM
  3. Instructor Station Poll
    By luisgordo in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-24-2008, 04:59 PM
  4. Re: PM Instructor Station Crash
    By Enrico Schiratti in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2006, 12:10 PM