Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Duel Yokes.. Need your help.

    Hey Guys,

    Please tell me what I am doing wrong.

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...php?photo=2717

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/showphoto.php?photo=2715

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...php?photo=2713

    I get good response from Pilot to coPilot with positive movement with every little movement. But when I go Copilot to Pilot, there appears to be some slop and the controls slowly go out of sync.

    Please help! I am about to go nuts

    Thanks,

    Trev
    Last edited by Trevor Hale; 04-28-2008 at 08:27 PM.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  2. #2
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Trevor,

    I see you have used the same method as my controls. In your third picture it is hard to see how you have locked the rope to your yoke axle pulley. Is there a problem there? Are you using nylon rope? Nylon will stretch over time. If so, I would dump it in favour of stainless steel wire rope (1.5mm - 2.0mm diameter). I used 2mm SS wire rope and my yokes have been synchronised without any slippage for over two years now, I have never had to adjust it. Also with SS wire rope, it only has to be stretched to take out the slack, don't tighten it up like a piano wire because you're only trying to drive a 10k pot and the second yoke handle. Do you have good bearings on your yoke axles? I used roller bearings, plain bushes may cause excess drag when the wire is tensioned. Roller bearing are really cheap. My first yoke set up had plain bushes which ended up squeaking after a while.

    I'm pointing the finger at your yellow rope!

    Also see - http://aerosimsolutions.googlepages.com/yokebuild

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s....php?photo=825

    Gwyn
    Last edited by Westozy; 04-28-2008 at 10:55 PM.

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are your pulleys all the same size?
    Are they all mounted the same at the same point with the same hardware and bearings?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie QF6228's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    199
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I agree with Gwyn, We have the same setup and found by using the plastic coated steel rope we had slippage, Try using steel cable, It resolved some issues for us.

    Damien.

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The question is why do you get slippage in one direction and not the other? The rope could be the problem, but assuming all else is equal something is not balanced on one side. Finding it is where the fun is.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie PaulEMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    20 m N of RWY36R LEMD
    Posts
    200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I agree 100% on the SS 2mm wire - I have also used this in my setup, including longer runs of wire around the hyd cylinders, and have no slippage for over 6 months - its a little harder to set up, but I found all I needed in the local hardware store.

    I also use bike chain for the top of the yoke/axle connection, linked to the wire partway down the column.
    Paul

    Project ERJ 145
    www.erj145sim.net

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    First off, Thanks to everyone so far fro the help.

    The orange rope, may be Nylon, and I will take the suggestion of changing to the ss wire instead.

    But the bad news is this. My pulley's do not have any bearings. The have a 1/4" hub and are floating on a 1/4" threaded rod nestled between to nylon nuts. They spin freely however it is somewhat possible that the tension of the wire/string causes friction on the threaded rod.

    So what I gather I need to do here is. purchase 6 new pulley's with Bearings on the hub, and replace my clothesline pulley's with them.

    Then chance my string to a SS wire rope.

    I am ready to rip my hair out on this, but I need to get this sorted before I complete the shell.

    Thanks again for all your help.

    Oh, and also there is a 1/4" Bolt notched into the top pulley and tightened down, with the string wrapped around it securely, there is no slippage there, but I may need to work on that in a way that is similar to your wire connector hub.

    Trev




    Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Hale View Post
    Hey Guys,

    Please tell me what I am doing wrong.

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...php?photo=2717

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/showphoto.php?photo=2715

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...php?photo=2713

    I get good response from Pilot to coPilot with positive movement with every little movement. But when I go Copilot to Pilot, there appears to be some slop and the controls slowly go out of sync.

    Please help! I am about to go nuts

    Thanks,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Trev,

    It sounds like your CURRENT set up is just like the one I attempted to create about 3 years ago and yes, I too was pulling hair out and finally just gave up on it all. Now after Ive discovered MC.org, I know all the places I was doing it wrong! The roller bearings vs. anything else will in and of itself make life much easier. I was also thinking the nylon coated wire would grip better, but evidently not, as demonstrated by all these guys here.

    Best of luck!
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  9. #9
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Trevor,

    Your bottom pulleys should be fine just make sure they have some grease on the axles. I meant your yoke spindle axles should have bearings so the yoke handles rotate very freely without any resistance, this will help a great deal.
    I've uploaded this pic to show you how I fitted a small brass electrical connector to my pulley to grip the wire. Aswel as gripping the wire it makes for an easy method of aligning the two yoke handles. Undo the screw, align the handles and tighten it up again. If you do this and use 2mm stainless wire rope, your problem will go away!!!

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...php?photo=2721

    PS Guys, as you see from the pic I have my own lathe and I can make custom pulleys or other turned pieces for any member. Don't be frightened to ask, I'm always looking for beer funds, plus postage of course!

    Gwyn
    Last edited by Westozy; 04-29-2008 at 10:29 AM.

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Again.

    OK, Well that gives me some places to try. I will start with changing the cable, and see if I can add some greese to the pully's. I do not have a lot of resistance on my yokes, but I do have a bit. I will loosen that up, and change my connector on the top of the pulley to match what you have in your picture.

    Here is hoping.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 737 yokes, where to buy
    By Goldmember in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 04:59 AM
  2. Double set with CH yokes&pedals causes yokes to spike
    By MortenHa in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 12:44 PM
  3. Need Help with my yokes
    By QF6228 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-19-2007, 10:42 AM
  4. yokes
    By Radar in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2007, 12:29 AM
  5. Windows Vista vs. Windows XP: The duel
    By MS Expert Zone RSS Feed in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 11:30 AM