Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dual rudder pedals completed

    Well I've finally completed my dual rudder pedals. These are based on Westozy's design (thanks Gwyn and are smooth as! I had some trouble sourcing adequate bearings but finally found plastic knitting needles that did the job (would you believe??). I've posted some pix on the photo gallery of Mycockpit but a full description and photos can be found on my website. There is also a small movie file of them in action.

    The grubby look of the base MDF is due to the grease on the aluminium rails and the fact that I dismantled them 20 times while trying to get the travel action smooth!

    These ended up costing around $100AUD proving that with a little ingenuity and skill you don't have to pay exorbitant prices to enjoy our hobby. I hope others find some inspiration from them.

    Ken.







    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  2. Thanks Matt Olieman thanked for this post
  3. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ken. Very nice. Am I to assume that you did not put toe breaks on this? What do you plan to do for brakes?
    Bob Reed

  4. #3
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bob,

    I have installed toe brakes using pots on each of the pilots pedals. Co-pilots will be simple tactile switches configured for on/off braking. You can just make out in the last photo the pots and linkages installed on each pedal to allow for this. Having said that I haven't actually hooked it all up yet to see how it goes, but they should just appear as another axis on my joystick card and I'll configure them for Left & Right braking.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  5. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks like I need to open my eyes up wider in the morning.. Yup I see them.. Nice..
    Last edited by Bob Reed; 04-23-2008 at 12:28 PM.
    Bob Reed

  6. #5
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,487
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Good stuff Ken,
    I'm pleased to see my design re-used!

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  7. #6
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ken,

    I saw your youtube video of the PC12 start-up and take-off and the instrument displays look really good.

    Is it just FSX in multi-monitor mode? i.e. undocked views? Or do you have some network based instrument add-on product?

    Are the graphics clear/sharp and smooth?

    Nice project!
    /Ryan.

  8. #7
    75+ Posting Member rt72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    93
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice work!

  9. #8
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Ryan,

    The instrument displays are customized Flight1 PC12 panels in FS9. It's all run in multi-monitor off 1 PC with undocked views. The video was done last year as a test case and that sim is now dismantled in preparation for the new one in development. I will redo the video once the PC12NG is ready.

    My new sim has a new PC but will still run stock FS panels i.e. no network gauges at this stage. I'm now running FSX as well as FS9 on Vista64. Graphics are as clear as any single monitor panel, no different, you just need more PC power as you add more monitors and more panels are opened.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  10. #9
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Ken.

    I tried doing some GA flying with FS9 and the Reality XP Flight Line T gauges (i.e. the flight instruments) as they were meant to be very clear and fluid.

    I found that they were indeed fluid but not very clear i.e. they still looked like bitmaps. My ambition then was to be able to have a setup like yours i.e. using FS rendered gauges & avionics in multi-monitor mode and reconfigurable (to fly different models).

    I was too disappointed with the lack of sharpness so I am back to considering PM GAIFR....

    cheers,
    Ryan.

  11. #10
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,155
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FANTASTIC Ken, Nice work.... amazingly impressed at what a little ingenuity will do

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 737 Rudder Pedals
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 05:39 PM
  2. Rudder Pedals
    By coppermasonry in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2009, 06:51 PM
  3. DUAL linked Cirrus Rudder Pedals
    By cz4hkr in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 09:40 AM
  4. Dual yokes completed
    By Kennair in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 05-08-2008, 07:55 PM