Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FMC Connection

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FMC Connection

    Hello

    Ok in the next few weeks I am going to embark on a huge task, and thats to design the PCB for the FMC.

    I will be using PM for my setup and currently going through the manual and a few other web sites to gain as much knowlage as I can, As far as my understanding is that PM's FMC will just accept standard keyboard inputs on either PS2 or USB?

    What I dont understand is how do you get the outputs for the annunciator lights (FMC, DISP, MSG and OFST)

    I am using FDT interface cards, do you have to connect those annunciator's direct to the interface card or is there a better way?

    And with the key commands, are they hard coded into PM or can they be configured?

    As for the keyboard interface I like the sound of the Hangstrom KEIC-USB Keyboard encoder http://www.hagstromelectronics.com/c...talogPages.pdf

    Has any one here tried using these before with any luck.

    Keep in mind I need 5 FMC's for my two bad boys

    Sorry if it sounds a little "thick" but i have only just started with this.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Phil,
    Sorry I can't help but I'd just like to say that I'm totally impressed that you are still going for the 2 big Boeings & 5 FMC's

    Looks like your place will be on the visiting rota!
    Cheers
    Mike

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie


    steveeverson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    228
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Hi Gents

    Does that mean there is now some yorkshire/lancashire rivalry going on?
    should hopefully gee us all up to get on with things....!
    steve

    ps any news on the concorde trip / dates etc mike?
    another bedroom boeing.....

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie QF6228's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    199
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Have you seen Marius PCB? for boeing type.

    http://www.stormloader.com/users/marius/cdu.htm

    Cheers Damien

  5. Thanks phil744 thanked for this post
  6. #5
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cheers,

    Yes I have and thought about it a few times, but it wont fit my application. I will be using 100% surface mount and the pads are the wrong footprint and there are no fiducial marks to reference from so i cant run it on my machine.

  7. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by phil744 View Post
    Hello

    Ok in the next few weeks I am going to embark on a huge task, and thats to design the PCB for the FMC.

    I will be using PM for my setup and currently going through the manual and a few other web sites to gain as much knowlage as I can, As far as my understanding is that PM's FMC will just accept standard keyboard inputs on either PS2 or USB?
    This is 100% correct, the keystrokes are defined, but basically operate as a standard USB/PS2 Keyboard. In essence, you could connect each key to a hacked keyboard and you would be set. Make sure you use apposed facing diodes on the key combinations that share the CTRL Key.



    What I dont understand is how do you get the outputs for the annunciator lights (FMC, DISP, MSG and OFST)
    Use a couple LED's for each and connect them to your output card. these led's would be controlled by offsets. The only one I have working is the EXEC light and MSG lights.


    I am using FDT interface cards, do you have to connect those annunciator's direct to the interface card or is there a better way?
    I would use a phidgets LED64 is your run PMSYSTems, very easy to program


    And with the key commands, are they hard coded into PM or can they be configured?
    Hard coded in PM, you cannot change them, but why would you want to. Works really slick as it is.


    As for the keyboard interface I like the sound of the Hangstrom KEIC-USB Keyboard encoder http://www.hagstromelectronics.com/c...talogPages.pdf

    Has any one here tried using these before with any luck.
    I use a KE72 for my FMC and I Love it. Works 100% I woud recommend one of the new Hagstrum cards over the Hacked keyboard. Worth every penny.


    Keep in mind I need 5 FMC's for my two bad boys
    OMG Your nutts LMAO

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. Thanks phil744 thanked for this post
  9. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job JBaymore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wilton, New Hampshire USA
    Posts
    661
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I second Trevor's thoughts on both the Phidgets LED64 and the Hagstrom KE72 hardware.

    Been using various Phidgets (and the freeware FS2Phidget) and two Hagstrom cards for quite a while.... all are great.

    The Hagstrom cards are VERY stable pieces of equipment. Easy to set up, VERY flexible, and once set up nary a glitch.....EVER.

    best,

    .................john

  10. Thanks Tomlin thanked for this post
  11. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    He Trevor.. You are not using the KE72.... I think it is the LP24 lots less money and works great for the CDU. This card is also available in a USB version now.
    Bob Reed

  12. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    LOL Your right Bob.. Sorry hadn't had my coffee yet. But yes, a great piece of Kit.
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  13. #10
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Trevor,

    Cheers for that, it gives me more confidence, the problem I have is that I cant write code or do any form of programming at all because i'm useless

    Thus the reason im going the sim board route(FDT), plug and play, perfect for an idiot like me! personally i would rather use the opencockpits stuff, i have bought all the things i need, but for the life of me cant get a single thing to work from opencockpits, and its not because their faulty, it's me who is faulty

    Ok cool, i will get hold of the keyboard listing from PM then map out the CDU to fit.

    Cheers for your help

Similar Threads

  1. 5 volt connection
    By Drewsta in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-22-2010, 10:53 AM
  2. OC FMC connection
    By fvefa in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-05-2010, 02:38 PM
  3. Connection issues
    By Blog Bot in forum MyCockpit Blog Entry Notifications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-07-2009, 11:50 AM
  4. IOCards connection to PC
    By MicroHellas in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2008, 12:57 PM
  5. Cervo connection
    By DCO in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-25-2006, 12:08 PM