Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CP Flight MCP problem

    I am using the CP Flight MCP with PMDG which works perfectly 99% of the time until just recently where something has changed. Occasionally when I am turning the HDG or CRS rotary encoders the altitude setting jumps to 50,000' (Maximum setting). It then has to be manually wound back to the required setting which takes a while and is becoming annoying.

    Is anyone else having this problem?

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah, I have the same problem once in a while. Just happens so fast that I was never able to remember what might have triggered it. Basically just had to rewind all the way down. But since it happens only once in while I learned to live with it, as with other little annoiances with this hardware.

    Like for instance:
    Not being able to programm a function or key combi to the co-pilot FD switch or the CWS A and B buttons.
    After finishing a flight and shutting down the cockpit to cold and dark, there's no option but to power off the MCP (take the adapter out) before starting up again for a second leg. I am thinking of mounting a switch in the power cord, so I don't have to crawl behind the back of my cockpit.

    Sorry I can't come up with a solution, but it helps to know your not the only one. Hope someone else comes up with something better

    Jeroen

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CPFlight MCP Issue

    hello gwyn....
    my colleague alan watson and i both had the same problem, except ours was a toss between 50,000' or 39400' and 3' in the VS window.
    i know paolo at cpflight, so he and i were in 'intense communication' about this and some other issues i had with the MIP board.
    the most current version of FS_COM which i installed has cured everything. i haven't seen the dreaded 50000' nor 39400 since and that's about 3 months now.
    so maybe worth downloading the latest version of FS_COM and giving that a wizz )
    greetings from wales ... ian

  4. Thanks Westozy thanked for this post
  5. #4
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ian@737ng.co.uk View Post
    hello gwyn....
    my colleague alan watson and i both had the same problem, except ours was a toss between 50,000' or 39400' and 3' in the VS window.
    i know paolo at cpflight, so he and i were in 'intense communication' about this and some other issues i had with the MIP board.
    the most current version of FS_COM which i installed has cured everything. i haven't seen the dreaded 50000' nor 39400 since and that's about 3 months now.
    so maybe worth downloading the latest version of FS_COM and giving that a wizz )
    greetings from wales ... ian
    Thanks Ian, I'll download the new FS_Com immediately. I'm glad it's a software issue and not a fault with the unit.

    Cheers mate,

    Gwyn (Ex Abertillery & Halifax)
    Last edited by Westozy; 04-16-2008 at 11:13 PM.

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job ian@737ng.co.uk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oswestry, Shropshire
    Posts
    677
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Westozy View Post
    Thanks Ian, I'll download the new FS_Com immediately. I'm glade it's a software issue and not a fault with the unit.

    Cheers mate,

    Gwyn (Ex Abertillery & Halifax)
    no it's not your unit matey.....it's a software 'glitch'. paolo was excellent in his response to the issues and 'modified' FS_COM's kept appearing in my mail until we had overcome all the hurdles. this is the version on the website now. CPFlight is a very customer focussed company and two really nice guys into the bargain (paolo's the one on the right, who had a hard night ) )

    hope it works out for you .... cheers ... ian
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ian@737ng.co.uk View Post
    no it's not your unit matey.....it's a software 'glitch'. paolo was excellent in his response to the issues and 'modified' FS_COM's kept appearing in my mail until we had overcome all the hurdles. this is the version on the website now. CPFlight is a very customer focussed company and two really nice guys into the bargain (paolo's the one on the right, who had a hard night ) )

    hope it works out for you .... cheers ... ian
    They were brilliant dealing with my own purchase and helped me get the MCP working in no time. Good to see the faces behind the names!

    Cheers, Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  8. #7
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,488
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Guys,

    I installed the new version of FS.Com and flew for about 2 hours constantly operating the MCP which performed flawlessly. Thanks again for the help, it looks like it did the trick. Cheers to CP Flight too!

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Flight Illusion Attitude Gauge Problem
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 05:55 PM
  2. Problem With PMRJ shwoing FS2004 flight plans
    By Polmer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2007, 08:36 PM
  3. cp flight mcp problem any ideas?
    By steve diamond in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 01:57 AM
  4. The second A380 takes to the air - Flight testing has passed 100th flight
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 06:41 AM
  5. Flight Illusion Gauge Problem
    By Fred Kurasiewicz in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2006, 06:34 AM