Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Skellefteċ
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    USBExpansion troubles.

    Hello!

    I realy cant get my USBExpansion to work properly.

    When i have the cards connected to each other (USB Exp. MC, Display II), i hear the "Ding dong" from the computer, stating found new hardware etc, drivers installed etc. No problems with installing the drivers.
    BUT after like 15seconds or less after the initial Ding Dong i hear the usb disconnect Ding dong sound, and the device dissapears from both SIOC and the device manager in windows.

    It keeps on doing this every time i reset the card. What shall i do? Im completely lost.

    Im using Vista ultimate 64bit. SIOC 3.5. usb 2.0 ports, dont have any 1.1.

    Please help me to get going on my cockpit build.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    206
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Use a powered USB HUB!

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Skellefteċ
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by dcutugno View Post
    Use a powered USB HUB!
    I am using a externaly powered USB 1.1 Hub.

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by poonta View Post
    I am using a externaly powered USB 1.1 Hub.
    I am sure this is a misprint but, 1.1 or 2.0 hub? You say 2.0 in your OP. Have you tried changing USB slots or plugging directly into the computer? Are you using a USB extension? Sometimes they can interfere.

    I feel you pain on the USB. I am having problems too. different kind.

    Keep with it, sooner or later (properly later) you will get it working.
    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Skellefteċ
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yepp, the hub is old Usb 1.1, the mainboard on the computer doesnt have 1.1 only Usb 2.0. I've tried conencting directly etc, and also tried through a USB 2.0 Hub. Every way i have tried

    Well well, i think im having some hardware issues with the usb exp. card, weird voltages on wrong places, been going up and down on the circuit board with my thrusted Multimeter...

    I think i'll buy a new card already assembled.

    Best regards!

    /Pontus

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    19
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by poonta View Post
    weird voltages on wrong places, been going up and down on the circuit board with my thrusted Multimeter...
    As I have just suggested in another thread, try external power to the cards (especially the Mastercard) and then measure the voltage between the bottom-left and top-right of each IC (after double-checking the orientation of each IC). That was my problem initially with the mastercard (but I'm not using vista though).

  7. #7
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Skellefteċ
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by wanderer View Post
    As I have just suggested in another thread, try external power to the cards (especially the Mastercard) and then measure the voltage between the bottom-left and top-right of each IC (after double-checking the orientation of each IC). That was my problem initially with the mastercard (but I'm not using vista though).
    Ok, i've checked every IC, they all have 5v.
    Though when i now connected the external power to the USB Expansion board. It wont start again.Guess somethings gone bad. =)

    Well well, i've had this card for almost 2 years now so i'll order a pre-assembled one and we'll see what happends.


    /Pontus

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by poonta View Post
    Ok, i've checked every IC, they all have 5v.
    Though when i now connected the external power to the USB Expansion board. It wont start again.Guess somethings gone bad. =)

    Well well, i've had this card for almost 2 years now so i'll order a pre-assembled one and we'll see what happends.


    /Pontus
    I am not sure you are supposed to put 5 VDC to the expansion card? Display card, yes. USB expansion?????
    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You have added external power to the hub?
    Have you updated the USB drivers for the motherboard?
    Have you updated the Windows drivers for USB?
    Did you re-boot after updating each of the above listed?
    Did you make faces at it that indicates you might drop it in a box of Mac parts if it fails to behave?
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  10. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Skellefteċ
    Posts
    9
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    1. USB hub external power. YES
    2. Updated motherboard USB drivers. YES
    3. Updated Windows USb drivers. NO Doesnt exist any new, or i havent found any
    4. Have rebooted. YES
    5. Yepp... Also told the card that he would fit nice on the powerline to one of our machines at work (1000kVa)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MasterCard/USBExpansion detection
    By Boeing 747 Flyer in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 10:29 AM
  2. FSX SDK Simconnect troubles
    By knuffelbaer1971 in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2010, 12:10 PM
  3. Monitor Troubles.
    By coolmanak in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-28-2008, 12:54 AM