Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My I/O USB board

    Hi,

    I would like to introduce you the board that me and a friend of mine developed to manage I/O of the cockpit.
    It is an USB 2.0 compliant board equipped with a 8 bit microcontroller and can manage:

    - 64 inputs (button, switches etc)
    - 64 outputs (max output load per single output 500 mA)
    - 7 segments display (driven with a BCD decoder driver 4543, so the board can manage up to 32 "digits")
    - rotary encoders

    The board supports two different power inputs: one is +5 Volt for the board logic, the 2nd for the "output voltage".

    At the moment another board is under development, it's the "LCD Board" that can manage up to 20 alphanumeric LCD displays (HD44780 compatible).
    Soon I will publish all the details on my web site.

    Regards,

    Roberto
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Roberto G.

    ATR 72-500 Sim Project
    http://digilander.libero.it/washburn_it

  2. Thanks W9XE/Project777 thanked for this post
  3. #2
    75+ Posting Member nricky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Roberto

    It looks really nice what you have done, can*t wait to get more info from you.

    Keep me postet in your progress.

    Cheers Norbert

  4. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    136
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Very cool and intresting

  5. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    this looks like the perfect allround board Roberto.

    Look forward to see more details !

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  6. #5
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wow, that's pretty comprehensive Roberto. Are you intending on marketing these boards commercially?

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  7. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well...the idea is to sell this board but it's too early at the moment, I must make deeper tests to check its reliability.
    This is the first project of this kind for me but I will keep you informed about my progress.

    Regards,

    Roberto
    Roberto G.

    ATR 72-500 Sim Project
    http://digilander.libero.it/washburn_it

  8. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Further update:
    the cost of the board is around at 150 Euros that may be pretty expensive for an hobbystic use, then I had another idea.
    I'm working around a kind of "universal board" that can be programmed directly from the user.
    This board will have 30 lines (2 more lines are used to communicate with the PC) that can be configured as inputs or outputs.
    With a software (pc side) the user can decide that 10 of 30 lines, for instance, can be used as inputs, 10 for outputs and 10 to drive a 7 segments display, or 30 only for inputs or only for outputs, or to drive alphanumeric LCD displays, encoders, servos and steppers.
    This kind of board should cost less than the other board since it has less components (only 2 chips and some passive component).
    I will let you know more about it soon.

    Regards,

    Roberto
    Roberto G.

    ATR 72-500 Sim Project
    http://digilander.libero.it/washburn_it

  9. #8
    300+ Forum Addict phil744's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lancashire, england
    Posts
    354
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice work!! was once thinking of doing my own, i can design electronics but useless when it comes to software!!!

    I do like the RJ-45 connection method, thinking of doing that on my setup.

    If you need any help on SMT stuff and production, i will be glad to help.

  10. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I uploaded a small video on YouTube ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22vSmlqmv8M ) to show a 7 segments display (4 digits) used as IAS indicator and driven by my I/O board.
    Sorry for the low quality but something can be seen anyway

    Regards,

    Roberto
    Roberto G.

    ATR 72-500 Sim Project
    http://digilander.libero.it/washburn_it

  11. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Roberto, I like the idea for your first board the best. This sounds like something I can use.

    What is the maximum output voltage that can be used for indicators and such?

    64 input and 64 outputs sounds like a great combo. It would be worth 150 for this functionality.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New one on board :)
    By tommy737ng in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-27-2010, 08:19 AM
  2. New BU0836X Board
    By ian@737ng.co.uk in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2009, 11:43 PM
  3. New Phidgets SBC I/O board
    By xtreme3d in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 08:59 PM
  4. Interface board
    By Radar in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-23-2007, 09:11 PM