Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    34
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Monitors as Cockpit

    I'm thinking of using three monitors for use as a main flight deck . Left side (capt. view) , middle (instruments), right side (FO view). This way I can incorporate different types of aircraft instead of being confined to one particular model. What software is needed to achieve this type of setup , as illustrated in the attached file. Would TH2Go work.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    795
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    As always Fairford, there's more than one way to skin a cat.

    Yes TH2GO is an option, or even two to cater for panels and outside view. Or install two video cards, hang the TH2GO off one card for outside view and use the two outputs from the other video card for panels. You can take one output for the Capt view and split it via a Y-cord or VGA splitter for the FO, then the second output can be used for the middle screen. All this will put a drain on your system as you start to open new windows to add display, so make sure you have a reasonable PC to accomodate. As stated elsewhere in other threads recently, the current mid-range hardware can run FS9 more than adequately for this. FSX is another matter.

    You don't need any special software for this, it's all handled by Windows and FS.

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | Aerosim Solutions | Sim-Avionics | P3D | FDS | FTX | AS16 | PPL | Kennair


  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    562
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That attached picture looks like a nice portable design. If I went wide-body I'd probably go that way as not to totally take a room over. I'd also go with a portable semi-circular screen design.

    Generally, any motherboard with a lot of PCIe 16x slots would work well. The AMD 790FX or the nVidia 780i or 790i. Add in there Matrox DH2G or TH2G boxes if needed. That would be a single machine pushing a ton of pixels. There are multi-machine setups that can be used too though. My experience is only with using multi-monitor on a single machine though.

Similar Threads

  1. Eyefinity FS2004 FSX with cockpit-monitors
    By eisenmpferd in forum Video Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-27-2011, 11:39 AM
  2. EIGHT MONITORS on one PC!!!!!!!!
    By manhattan in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 09:21 PM
  3. How Many Monitors?
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 02:04 PM
  4. 2 monitors
    By Bob Reed in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-15-2007, 04:20 PM
  5. Time to wake up cockpit, monitors/displays
    By SMS in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-24-2007, 11:42 AM