Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Daveanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
    Posts
    137
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Question Open Cockpits FMC/CDU kit

    I have just purchased an FMC/CDU kit from Opencockpits, as usual, it isn't very clever with instructions etc.

    The press buttons circuit etc is not a problem for me, also the USB keys card interface.

    However I also bought a 5" TV screen kit (circuit board No 5QVM2LV1.2P, and screen: LTS50001).

    Can anyone give me a lead/link into how I drive/connect the 5" screen and interface it with FS 2004 to show the FMC/CDU screen as it should be.

    I am not using PM at all.

    Many thanks

    DaveAnne

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I do not think it will work without PM... FS does not have a good FMC....
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Daveanne View Post
    I have just purchased an FMC/CDU kit from Opencockpits, as usual, it isn't very clever with instructions etc.

    The press buttons circuit etc is not a problem for me, also the USB keys card interface.

    However I also bought a 5" TV screen kit (circuit board No 5QVM2LV1.2P, and screen: LTS50001).

    Can anyone give me a lead/link into how I drive/connect the 5" screen and interface it with FS 2004 to show the FMC/CDU screen as it should be.

    I am not using PM at all.

    Many thanks

    DaveAnne
    Ive been wanting to see a picture of this thing...I cant find it on their website. Directions? WAIT! I see the Boeing versions but I think there may be another version available?
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Daveanne View Post
    I have just purchased an FMC/CDU kit from Opencockpits, as usual, it isn't very clever with instructions etc.

    The press buttons circuit etc is not a problem for me, also the USB keys card interface.

    However I also bought a 5" TV screen kit (circuit board No 5QVM2LV1.2P, and screen: LTS50001).

    Can anyone give me a lead/link into how I drive/connect the 5" screen and interface it with FS 2004 to show the FMC/CDU screen as it should be.

    I am not using PM at all.

    Many thanks

    DaveAnne
    Hi Dave, are you using the PMDG aircraft?

    What you will want to do is connect the screen and get it working in your windows environment. Then undock your PMDG CDU by right clicking on it, and drag it to your new monitor and then save the flight.

    Your good and golden.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dave,

    Once we've worked out the physical connections you can then set it up for TV out on your graphics card in windows. Will have a search for you and email - it appears to be a Sony PSOne screen but from your photos it doesnt look like the one I have

    Will let you know...
    Cheers
    Mike

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Try this link:

    http://www.retroleum.co.uk/psone_lcd.html

    looks like you may have to make a connector????

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Daveanne View Post
    I have just purchased an FMC/CDU kit from Opencockpits, as usual, it isn't very clever with instructions etc.

    The press buttons circuit etc is not a problem for me, also the USB keys card interface.

    However I also bought a 5" TV screen kit (circuit board No 5QVM2LV1.2P, and screen: LTS50001).

    Can anyone give me a lead/link into how I drive/connect the 5" screen and interface it with FS 2004 to show the FMC/CDU screen as it should be.

    I am not using PM at all.

    Many thanks

    DaveAnne
    Dave, what software this kit use to work with FMC? You talk about usb interface but how the software( and which) active the keys of FMC?

  8. #8
    75+ Posting Member Daveanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
    Posts
    137
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FMC/CDU kit

    Ah, I see you have been sucked in like me with this kit, but it isnt all bad news:

    Firstly you can't use the 5" TV screen if you are not using PM, so if anyone is looking for one, my friend here and I have one for sale, any offers?

    The process I followed was complex to achieve, but it works a treat.

    I am very busy at work at the moment, but if you can wait a short while I will post a tutorial, with pictures of how to achieve it.

    Daveanne

  9. #9
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    17
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I will wait for tutorial.
    Thanks.
    Where you from? I am in Brazil.

  10. #10
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Porto Alegre, Brasil
    Posts
    6
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello Guys!

    Well, I was (until now!) seriously thinking about buying OpenCockpits kit for the FMC/CDU for B737NG. And yes, I intend to use it with PMDG.

    Questions:

    1) Does anyone have it working on PMDG 100% ?
    2) IF I buy the kit, will I need anything else to get it to work?

    Regards to all!
    Rafael

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Open Cockpits FMC......HELP PLEASE !!!!!!
    By davemckee in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 08-30-2011, 08:52 AM
  2. open cockpits efis
    By entsman in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 07:44 AM
  3. Open Cockpits shipping to the USA
    By drum4no1 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 08:59 PM
  4. Open Cockpits MCP Please Help.
    By flightsox in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-29-2009, 12:25 PM
  5. Open Cockpits
    By garyk007 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2007, 04:06 AM