Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: FSUIPC issue?

  1. #1
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    CARMEL VALLEY CA.
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org FSUIPC issue?

    Hi

    Quick question, I just "registered" a new version of FSUIPC 3.80 , when I open it from the modules window in F's, the fsuipc window is sized in a way that it only shows what looks like, the "upper left" corner of the FSUIPC window. Hence I am unable to see all features and can't register wide view. Have you ever heard of this?

    regards

    Dennis
    "VENOM 359ES"

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That sounds weird! Search Pete's support forum and see if anyone else has had that happen - or post your question there. Pete is quick to respond.
    http://forums.simflight.com/viewforum.php?f=54

  3. Thanks DENNIS ORSAG thanked for this post
  4. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by DENNIS ORSAG View Post
    Quick question, I just "registered" a new version of FSUIPC 3.80 , when I open it from the modules window in F's, the fsuipc window is sized in a way that it only shows what looks like, the "upper left" corner of the FSUIPC window. Hence I am unable to see all features and can't register wide view. Have you ever heard of this?
    The FSUIPC dialogues are standard Windows windows -- the sizes and fonts are not decided by FSUIPC, but by Windows own libraries. The usual reason the fonts are too big for the window is a version of COMCTL32.DLL installed which is not compatible (uses different screen units) with the main graphics library in Windows. In the past this has been a fault of some video driver packages which overwrite the "official" MS version of this library with their own OEM version, without regard to the versioning.

    Before attempting to repair Windows, you might want to check your desktop font settings -- right click, Properties, Appearance, Font Size. Make sure that is "Normal". If that doesn't help, or you need a large font size for other reasons, then I'm afraid it's a repair job. You'd need to get Windows to reinstall its own library. Not sure how to do that easily, as COMCTL32 is used a lot. If you do a clean boot, or a "safe boot" into Windows, you might be able to get it replaced from Windows backup or CDRom.

    Regards

    Pete

  5. Thanks DENNIS ORSAG thanked for this post
  6. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    CARMEL VALLEY CA.
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi

    Thanks for the reply and suggestion

    kind regards

    Dennis
    "VENOM 359ES"

  7. #5
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    CARMEL VALLEY CA.
    Posts
    23
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Dowson View Post
    The FSUIPC dialogues are standard Windows windows -- the sizes and fonts are not decided by FSUIPC, but by Windows own libraries. The usual reason the fonts are too big for the window is a version of COMCTL32.DLL installed which is not compatible (uses different screen units) with the main graphics library in Windows. In the past this has been a fault of some video driver packages which overwrite the "official" MS version of this library with their own OEM version, without regard to the versioning.

    Before attempting to repair Windows, you might want to check your desktop font settings -- right click, Properties, Appearance, Font Size. Make sure that is "Normal". If that doesn't help, or you need a large font size for other reasons, then I'm afraid it's a repair job. You'd need to get Windows to reinstall its own library. Not sure how to do that easily, as COMCTL32 is used a lot. If you do a clean boot, or a "safe boot" into Windows, you might be able to get it replaced from Windows backup or CDRom.

    Regards

    Pete
    Pete,

    Thank you for the reply and info. I will work on this today.

    kind regards

    Dennis
    "VENOM 359ES"

Similar Threads

  1. Potentiometer issue
    By jesper1100 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-25-2010, 09:35 PM
  2. Opencockpits USB LCD Issue
    By markusr in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 02:34 PM
  3. Is there an issue with the sim logic here?
    By Tomlin in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 11:51 AM
  4. Issue with Flaps & Ver. 3.1.2
    By imported_Rob's 747-400 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 09:09 AM
  5. 0/16/16 board issue
    By lineman55 in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-21-2005, 08:40 AM