Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Beginner visualchaosfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Petoskey, Michigan
    Posts
    202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Touchscreens and the PMDG FMC

    I was thinking of maybe getting a touchscreen monitor for use with the PMDG FMC. What other hardware am I going to need to use to get this to work if there's any?

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member Lezam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    None, get the touchscreen and your good to go

  3. Thanks visualchaosfx thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Beginner visualchaosfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Petoskey, Michigan
    Posts
    202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oh ok well thats cool. I wonder if the touchscreen can be used with the Overhead panel of the PMDG 747? I'm thinking it may be alittle more difficult for that because how would you rotate the knobs and stuff?

  5. #4
    75+ Posting Member Lezam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You could do that, the knobs wouldnt be too hard to use because you could just drag your finger like a mouse

  6. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job autocadplease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    521
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use a cheap 15" Elo CRT touchscreen which I found on ebay for $100. I run Project Magenta's CDU and Jeppesen's FliteDeck on it and I love it. Another program to look at is:

    Key2Mouse
    http://www.wideview.it/key2mouse.htm

    and

    Key2Lan
    http://www.wideview.it/key2lan.htm

  7. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    Can't remember where I saw it but one guy used a touchscreen for the PMDG overhead and mounted it just like an overhead. You also have some choices about whether you buy a touchscreen or a monitor cover that converts your LCD or monitor to a touchscreen. Again, can't remember what the product is called. Your finger becomes the mouse so knobs are easily turned.

    I've struggled with going in that direction - it's certainly cheaper and works completely than building an overhead whether for PMDG or Project Magenta. From what I understand you can change windows so you could have the overhead as your main screen and then pop-up the FMC, TQ etc whenever you needed to. It may also be possible to rotate the window and have the LCD on it's side to look more realistic with the O/H.

    Rob

  8. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    255
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have some limited experience with a small 10" touch screen.

    The touch screen is actually divided into a grid,, with each small square allowing for a finger press.

    You have to be careful with smaller knobs for volume and radios etc ( those +/- mouse events). If they don't seperately fall into their own grid square,, they might not work.

    Thats how my touchscreen worked. There may be different screens and different software that I'm unaware of.

  9. #8
    Beginner visualchaosfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Petoskey, Michigan
    Posts
    202
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'd like to do the touchscreen idea because of mobility and the fact that I am going to be moving into an apartment here in a couple of months. So even though if I did have funds to build a sim from the ground up, building it in an apartment wouldn't be the best idea. I'm wanting to use one PC for this setup in conjunction with triplehead2go. But after thinking about it, my TrackIR Pro would be useless if I ended up using 1 of the 3 screens for the FMC or an overhead panel.

    Probably the best thing, but most expensive, would be to buy a plug and play FMC from Flyengravity. I guess I could go the route of buying the parts and accessories and assembling the FMC but then how difficult is it to even assemble something like that.

  10. #9
    25+ Posting Member Kris Stow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Seabrook,TX (U.S.A)
    Posts
    71
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Microsoft FSX

    Quote Originally Posted by visualchaosfx View Post
    So even though if I did have funds to build a sim from the ground up, building it in an apartment wouldn't be the best idea.
    Don't give up due to an apartment if you take a look at my sim I have it in my study in my apartment. So keep it going. I think the touch screen is a great idea for the FMC portion but don't know how it would work for a complete overhead setup. Well anyway thats my 2 cents..LOL Have a great day gents and keep them hauling!!
    --

    Kris S.
    Seabrook,Texas


    www.lear45project.org

    Also proud supporter of..
    http://hangar45.net
    www.innovativefsp.com

  11. #10
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    42
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: Touchscreens and the PMDG FMC

    Just to revive the talk of a touchscreen FMS what are the possibilities of integrating one of these Android touchscreen tablet pc.
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.d...448~r.91142929

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SIOC MCP 737 PMDG with PMDG 747 in fsx displays and leds don't work
    By dion73 in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-03-2011, 08:02 AM
  2. PMDG 747 PFD etc
    By xlonglife in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 02:54 PM
  3. TouchScreens Question.
    By weshollett in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 04:03 AM
  4. Pmdg 747
    By Jake 747 400 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2009, 07:23 AM