Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    connecting leds to 0/16/16

    I have two 0/16/16 boards that I use vor switches, I now have about 20 leds to connect. Does anybody know how a led can be connected to this board ? It seems silly to buy a led64 boards if it can be done on a 0/16/16.

    Thanks
    [

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Marnix.

    If I am not mistaken The Output acts as a switch to ground.

    Therefore you will require to supply +5V and a resistor to the anode of the led and connect the cathode to the 0/16/16.

    Make sure that the 0/16/16 has a connection between the ground of it's power supply in common with the ground of your +5 V LED supply.

    I hope that makes sense.

    Best regards Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    maybe this picture helps too.

    Stef


    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Cool

    Thanks but I think I am having trouble with my vision ... I found an manual at Trossenrobotics explaining how to connect to the board :

    http://www.trossenrobotics.com/Phidg...16.16_1012.pdf

    Then I have the one at Phidget :

    http://www.phidgets.com/documentation/Phidgets/1012.pdf

    I am under the impression that for the same boards different way's are shown, in the first one the ground from the power supply is connected to the ground of the board + the positive lead of the power supply goes to the switch (or bulb) and continues from the bulb to the input or output node of the Phidgetcard.

    In the second document it is the ground from the power supply that goes to the switch and continues from the switch to the ground of the Phidgetcard, the Positive lead goes from the power supply to the inputs or outputs from the cards.

    Stef if I am correct, your drawing is the first.

    Perhaps I am completely missing the ball here but I would like to be sure before I wire anything ...
    [

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    just did a test with the boards, I used the power supply ground to Phidget ground version, worked fine so I'll stick with this, it's the easiest to wire anyway.
    [

Similar Threads

  1. CONNECTING LED DIODES
    By shoumi in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 10:55 PM
  2. connecting with Simboards
    By mike24 in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 05:51 AM
  3. Help, connecting two joysticks in FSX.
    By Junkers in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-19-2009, 09:15 AM
  4. Connecting GF RMKs to the sim
    By Tomlin in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-19-2007, 04:29 PM