Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: USB SimKits

  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level bobbosan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    USB SimKits

    Has anyone used the new USB Simkit gauges yet? If so, how do they perform? Can you tell me the cut-out hole size for the large and small gauges? Just starting to design my cockpit panel. Thanks!
    Bobbo

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The generic gauges work OK (Although it isn't possible to assemble via their instructions).

    The complex instruments suck though...

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by ocpilot View Post
    The generic gauges work OK (Although it isn't possible to assemble via their instructions).

    The complex instruments suck though...
    I can back-up that comment as well, assembly is a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    What i did was chuck the plastic crap in the trash, i took a real VSI gauge, mounted my own servo and gears, used the usb controller that came with the kit and now i have a realistic operating REAL VSI gauge!! It works very smooth and dead-on accurate to the sim!!

    The software is great as well.

    Just buy real gauges and the simkits bigger interface board and you will be much happier.

  4. Likes bootstrap liked this post
  5. #4
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level bobbosan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    7
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    SimKit Follow-up

    I ordered a pre-built USB Altimeter and it arrived in bad shape with several parts broken. They sent replacement parts and we installed them per instructions. We downloaded proper software to add it to FSX but we never could get it to work properly. We could calibrate it but when we tried to fly with it, FSX would disconnect it everytime. Simkit was no real help in solving the problem. They said they were rewriting the instruction sheet but to date I have received nothing and they were not able to help me out.. After spending over $500 and consideral time, I have junked the gauge. I consider this a very expensive lesson amd will order no further products from them. Buyer beware!

  6. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for the head's-up on these gauges. I'll look elsewhere for two flap indicators.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #6
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I Use the sIMKIT flaps gauge for the NG
    NO prob at all.
    Building it was not exactly complicated to figure out.
    Totally satisfied.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  8. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    same here...

    use several gauges and all work perfectly under both FS9 and FSX, no disconnects whatsoever.

    However the instructionsheet can be a bit cryptic , But after some good reading and some patience you can build a good low cost gauge.

    The boing flaps gauge can be build as single or dual needle instrument and looks very similar to the real one.

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  9. #8
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing Skunk Works View Post
    Thanks for the head's-up on these gauges. I'll look elsewhere for two flap indicators.
    Hi Mike, don't be put off that easily. Although the assembly instructions are a bit vague, the engineering is sound and the gauges look good. I have a Simkits flap gauge and it took about 20 minutes to figure it out! You would be able to assemble it without any instructions! Talk to Clinton from www.ozziesim.com

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  10. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    OK, I may give them a try after all. I know it's not rocket science.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  11. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Assembly is not hard BUTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

    No one has yet to tell me how you install 4 screws UNDER the gauge face which has to be in place so the needle and it's attached gear is already in place.! I refuse to cut up the gauge face. Either way, i disposed of the toys and am using REAL gauges with the simkits guts. At least they are designed for assembly.

    Like i said, i can disassemble and reassemble a real gauge and make it function but not a Simkit! Funny sh##!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. flightillutions VS simkits
    By vamaral in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 06:45 AM
  2. Simkits wanted
    By Prarie Boy in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-08-2009, 04:26 PM
  3. Simkits on Ebay
    By AlexJ in forum Off Site Articles For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 08:01 AM
  4. Need Help! Simkits Flaps and FDS MIP
    By blueskydriver in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 03:10 AM