Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    161
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Drawing 100 nm. and bigger circles via FIX page

    Hello folks.

    Just to see if you happened to try this and get the same response from your PM Boeing setup ...

    Last night - whilst flying at cruise level 350 - I decided to draw a circle on the ND with a radius of 105 nm. (to see how far it was from the computed T/D).
    Therefore I accessed the CDU (ver 394) FIX page, I entered the destination as a fix via LSK 1L, and then entered
    /105
    via LSK 2L.

    No big circle appeared on the ND, and only when I zoomed in, I could see that a 5 nm. circle had been drawn instead.

    Did another try with
    /110
    and saw a 10 nm. circle drawn around the fix.

    So I thought that maybe PM CDU doesn't deal with 100 nm., and plus, circles but, as far as I know, there shouldn't be such limitations on the real stuff.

    If you confirm so, and if you happen to notice the same behavior, I will write to PM support about this (I don't want to bother them with non-existing bugs !!!).

    Thanks for the attention and regards.
    Happy landings and always three greens !!

    Eu

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,

    This has been a long time issue.
    In the PM cdu the fix circle seems to be limited to 99mls.
    In real life it far more, for B744 it is up to +500 mls (I have to check as it is a strange value in the 500's)

    I mentioned this to Enrico a long time ago, (it was set on the never ending todo list), so it is maybe time to contact him again about the issue

    B. rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    161
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    how about decimals ?

    I see.

    Looks like the same thing must be said when drawing a circle with a non-integer radius, like 4.6 nm or 8.4 nm ...

    The programs doesn't accept decimals.

    Same for y'all ?

    Eu
    Happy landings and always three greens !!

    Eu

  4. #4
    While on the topic sometimes you may notice as you get closer to a destination in PM your route line track the CDU is following disappears completely and then reappears when you either get even closer or reset the radar distance. This too is extremely bothersome and downright annoying. Question when dealing with AST software does it mnage these issues properly?

    Tim
    A340

Similar Threads

  1. Creating a drawing for CNC. Is this right?
    By Doon1 in forum CNC Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-02-2010, 01:51 AM
  2. 737 Panels Drawing AutoCAD
    By mterm in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 01:27 PM
  3. 737Panels Drawing
    By colaboy in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2009, 01:48 PM
  4. Help understandin 737 autocad drawing please.
    By orwell84 in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 05:03 PM
  5. Bigger servos with "Servo 4-Motor"
    By drit in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-17-2004, 09:31 AM