Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    338
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hacking Monitors!

    After contacting Bob Reed about his large dual monitor for outside view setup, and the problem with the centre obstruction caused by the centre ends of the two monitors, I considered taking apart a monitor to see if I can "loose" the plastic surround and perhaps bring together the actual screens thereby doing away with this centre obstruction which Bob says obscures the runway on finals! I might be hoping for too much, but if anybody has tried getting into an lcd flat screen monitor, I would appreciate any comments? If it IS possible, the stripped down screens, could be re-mounted edge to edge on a backboard for security and safety?

    Just a thought, and probably not feasable.........


    TONY

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    561
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you've thought about it, odds are someone on the internet has done it.

    http://www.mikevanelst.com/monitorproject/

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie PaulEMB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    20 m N of RWY36R LEMD
    Posts
    200
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Tony,

    I stripped the monitors I use on the MIP of my sim - I think there are some pics on my site" MIP Support panel".

    On most LCD monitors, you don't gain that much by taking off the plastic, unless of course there are speakers mounted there - the metal frame of the monitor is about 1cm wide once the plastic is removed.
    Paul

    Project ERJ 145
    www.erj145sim.net

  4. #4
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Samsung and Hanns seem to have monitors with the narrowest frame bezels.

    Dell are some of the largest. Don't know about others.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member rt72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Posts
    93
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    As others have said, it's going to depend on the monitor brand whether or not you get any benefit. The bare lcd modules are all about the same.

    You could try to use fresnel lenses to magnify both images a bit and eliminate the bezel alltogether. I haven't actually done it, but I know it's possible.

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict manhattan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Plymouth UK
    Posts
    338
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulEMB View Post
    Hi Tony,

    I stripped the monitors I use on the MIP of my sim - I think there are some pics on my site" MIP Support panel".

    On most LCD monitors, you don't gain that much by taking off the plastic, unless of course there are speakers mounted there - the metal frame of the monitor is about 1cm wide once the plastic is removed.
    Hi Paul.

    Your sim is very impressive!!
    The reason why I wanted to strip a couple of LCD monitors was to eliminate the centre divide that is typical of most jets. However, I notice that you have a fairly large divide in the front view area yourself. You presumeably built this in for authenticity - but does it restrict your view on finals? I do also notice in one of your screen shots, that the runway on approach appears in captains window, and not in the exact centre. Do you think perhaps that the projected image as oppose to monitors "in your face" might have something to do with the centre divide not getting in the way?

    Thanks.

    TONY

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Tony. Keep in mind most aircraft have a center mullion. This only tends to impeed the approach from quite a distance away from the field. Remember as you get closer to the runway, the image gets bigger and bigger.

    Your second option is to go with the Matrox Tripple or Duel head to go digital module. This unit takes into account the divide between the monitors and shifts the image so your don't loose anything. Keep that in mind.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    60
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here's what I did to strip 3 NEC 19" LCD panels and build a custom rack to hold all three with my TH2Go.

    Steve

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That looks great. I mean really great. Just as though you were looking out the forward windscreen.

    I have to ask though, on a Boeing airliner there is only one center pillar on the windscreen, unlike Douglas designs, and that would bother me to have two seams in the viewing area.

    Using a 3HTG, wouldn't it make more sense on a Boeing to use two larger(wider) monitors to give the same amount of area with the seam in the middle and then maybe use the third option for a panel display, or is this not possible with the 3HTG?

    Would you have to use the 2HTG?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I use a TH2Go. You really don't see the dead strips between the monitors while flying. Your brain just ignores them.
    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. LCD Monitors
    By shearder in forum LCD Monitor Solutions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-09-2009, 05:01 AM
  2. More monitors
    By roblockett in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 09:10 PM
  3. How Many Monitors?
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 01:04 PM
  4. Monitors
    By Petex1 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-28-2007, 03:59 PM
  5. Joystick hacking problems
    By craiso in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-02-2007, 03:06 PM