Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: First cockpit

  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Jönköping, Sweden
    Posts
    62
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Smile First cockpit

    Ok, so i finally did it. After a year of hanging around various forums and searching the internet for drawings etc, i built a basic cockpit. It must be the obsession i have developed by hanging out with all of you guy's!!

    Right now it has just 1 projector (1280x800) for the front view, CH Products yoke, pedals, throttle quadrant and CP Flight MCP. I am using FreeFD for the PFD, VasFMC for the ND and FMC (on screen) and Fsxpand for the EICAS, standby instruments and the Flaps guage. I made WideFS into a button screen to accomodate the buttons i am losing by no longer using the FSX main panel.

    I am getting 35 Fps in FSX with most of the sliders at High settings. I was amazed when i first started FSX with just the one screen (deleted FSX.CFG) and it set all the sliders at maximum. I reduced them in order to get more Fps, as it had set the maximum frames at 20 and i wanted more.

    It's really fluid and easier to fly than before when i had 3 screens at 1280x1024 with the TripleHead2Go. I think i might finally be able to master hand flying SID's and STAR's.

    I am still playing around with the visuals at the moment trying to get the eyepoint correct, as it currently has a bit of a crabbing effect and feels like i am sitting in a go kart.

    Regards
    Benja
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks great!

    Thinking about swapping to FSX myself - if I can get decent fps and can sort out the overall "desert" effects!

    By dropping the FSX vc / 2d cockpit did you see an increase in fps?

    Cheers
    Mike

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Jönköping, Sweden
    Posts
    62
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org

    Quote Originally Posted by mpl330 View Post
    By dropping the FSX vc / 2d cockpit did you see an increase in fps?
    Mike,

    It's hard to say, as i have never flown with the 2d cockpit and only 1 screen.

    I had 3 19" screens on the TripleHead2Go before at 3840x1024 and a 17" screen at 1280x1024 and was getting about 15 Fps, so this change is a definite improvement.

    I also had no Autogen before and the sliders mostly to the left, so the entire visual setup has improved a lot.

    Luckily there are no FSX deserts here in Scandinavia as it's mostly forest and that is hard for Microsoft to get wrong....

    Regards
    Benja

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Same setup as me then - 3x19" on a TH2GO - really want a projector
    Has the projector really made such a difference over the 3 19"? (Bear in mind your answer may affect whether my wife gets an Easter Egg )

    The forests are something they have really done well but overall I think FSX looks a little 'washed out'/light coloured and the landclass is awful.

    You run any AI to get 15fps? What pc you running that on?
    Cheers
    Mike

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Jönköping, Sweden
    Posts
    62
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thumbs up Info....

    Quote Originally Posted by mpl330 View Post
    Same setup as me then - 3x19" on a TH2GO - really want a projector
    Has the projector really made such a difference over the 3 19"? (Bear in mind your answer may affect whether my wife gets an Easter Egg )

    The forests are something they have really done well but overall I think FSX looks a little 'washed out'/light coloured and the landclass is awful.

    You run any AI to get 15fps? What pc you running that on?
    Cheers
    Mike
    Mike,

    Yes and no for the projector. I have lost the views to the sides, which makes taxiing a little more challenging and i am pushing less pixels than even 1 of the 19" screens from before, as it is 1280x800, but i feel more immersed in the sim now, as the front view is bigger and definitely more fluid with the extra Fps i have gained and being able to turn on Autogen and ground traffic etc.

    No, i didn't run any AI or Autogen for 15 fps before with the TH2Go, but i did have the default 737-800 panel on a 4th screen though.

    I am running FSX on a Core2Duo 6700 2.6GHz, with 2 GB of ram, 150 GB Raptor 10,000 rpm hard drive and an Nvidia 8800 GTX (768 MB), which probably explains the good results, as it is only running the front view, PMSounds, FS_Com for my CP Flight MCP and the CH Products controls.

    I have a Pentium 4 2.8 GHz, with 2 GB of ram and an Nvidia 7600 GS OC (512 MB) connected to the TH2Go for the instruments and they are nice and fluid too.

    I still need help to optimize the 8800 GTX settings, as i am not sure if i should do all through FSX or make some settings in the Nvidia control panel to get better visuals. I run the front view at 0.70 zoom.

    Plus, i really want to manufacture some longer throttle levers as well, because the CH Throttle Quad is a little low where it is right now.

    I guess these kinds of projects are never finished are they...

    I plan on buying the CP Flight Com, Nav and Xponder panels next to install, as i am doing this right now using the FSInn controls when flying on Vatsim and it is a little bit of a pain.

    Regards
    Benja

    P.S. The projector i bought is the Infocus X8 and i can't fault it at all so far. I have played Call of Duty 4 so i could show a friend and the effects were great. It also looked good with movies on it too. I now have to think about rearranging my living room for the movies....

Similar Threads

  1. [Discussion] Multi Crew Cockpit VS Single seat Cockpit !!
    By SU-GGG Dispatcher in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-14-2010, 03:22 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2010, 11:09 AM
  3. c-130j cockpit or cockpit help in general
    By silentscope in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 12:58 AM