Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Radar contact RC4

    Just bought the software...
    Does it have to be on the main FS computer or is there any advantage to put it on a client.?
    Might be a stupid question....please advise!!
    Cheers
    jack
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You can indeed put it on a clientcomputer. The advantage will be that the FS sounds, like engines etc. will come from the speakers of the main FS PC and the ATC sounds can come through your headset from the client PC.
    Drawback, as in my case, is that you always have to use speakers on the main FS PC. That can be really annoying for other family members.

    Hope this helps
    Jeroen

  3. #3
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Good purchase!

    I have been running it on the main pc without any problems but am thinking about putting it onto to a 2nd pc if I run FSX - keep us updated with how you get on...

    Cheers
    Mike

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    44
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Why not buy a cheap mixer from radio shack and mix both into one headset?
    My two cents

    Dave

  5. #5
    Boeing 777 Builder


    Kennair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    793
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes Jack works well on a client PC. Use FSUIPC & Wideserver to do the business and, as mentioned, use separate headphones for ATC while other sounds emminate from the main FS PC. You can also use Teamspeak etc on the client PC for online ATC. Use Pete Dowson's ShowText app to display RC ATC text commmands on the client PC also, getting it off the main panel.

    Good luck,

    Ken.
    Opencockpits | AerosimSolutions | Sim-Avionics | FSX | FDS | FTX | REX2 | ASE | PPL | FlightCity | Kennair


  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveC3 View Post
    Why not buy a cheap mixer from radio shack and mix both into one headset?
    My two cents

    Dave
    Dave,

    Could you post a link to the type of thing you mean - I've been wondering about this for a while now and am not sure what to get...

    Is there something that would let me:
    Take sound from 2 seperate pc's (ATC and Aircraft sounds) and then be able to choose whether to have-
    a) ATC on Headphones and Aircraft over speakers
    b) All over Speakers
    c) All over Headphones

    Want to be able to choose depending on the time of day!

    Cheers
    Mike

    Sorry if this is hijacking the thread...

  7. #7
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgetown, Texas
    Posts
    44
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The one I have is a Radio Shack 32-1101. I have had it for many years. The current equivalent model is
    http://www.radioshack.com/sm-4-chann...i-2102920.html
    Around $30.

    Your local music store should also have stereo mixers.

    Dave

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mike
    Just plug whatever you want to use in the sound card jacks of the said PC's.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

  9. #9
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Jackpilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    MONTREAL
    Posts
    1,046
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys for the replies.
    Jackpilot
    B737-700 Posky
    FS9/P.Magenta
    without PMSystem

Similar Threads

  1. Radar Contact 5
    By Per Alm in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 07:42 AM
  2. Radar Contact Meatwater voices
    By Tony in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2009, 04:29 AM
  3. REX and Radar Contact 5
    By Per Alm in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-07-2009, 03:52 PM
  4. radar contact
    By Mr. Midnight in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-12-2009, 10:22 AM
  5. MCP HDG problem using Radar Contact
    By drayton_k in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-11-2008, 06:23 AM