Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: FSX crashing

  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FSX crashing

    Hello all

    Well a few days ago i upgraded my MB, CPU and Memory

    I am now running an ASUS CrossHair with a AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor With GeIL Esoteria 8GB(4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) and finally my video card is ASUS GeForce 7800GTX 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI My frame rates have doubled which is what i wanted.

    BUT now everytime i am in full screen mode (the only mode i fly) if i hit ALT and go into the menu and select for example Controls the Sim will CTD. I have updated all drivers. I did not get this situation on my other MB and CPU I am not overclocking anything. It is really frustrating. I have removed FSX and reinstalled the prgoram (still not working) Can anyone tell me what I have done wrong? is anyone else experincing this problem?

    Thanks everyone.
    Mike G.

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict Rodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO USA
    Posts
    370
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are you running Vista? Have you looked in your event viewer for errors? Try pulling ram down to 4 Gb. Too many things it could be, numerous posts on other sites on CTD.
    Rodney -
    Real 727-200 pit
    Last Flown as N392PA
    FS9

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mike,

    Yes, my FSX is doing the same thing. What I found out though, is that the installation of SP2 or acceleration, is the cause. From what i understand, they are trying to work out the solution. When you stay flying in full screen, or just stay in the window mode, it will not crash.

    Hope this helps.

    James
    James Twomey

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    180
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I remember FRAPS whas the cause, try uninstall it and then update it to a newer version, i might be wrong!

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I read that too on another Forum I removed it from the HDD but still did not help. I will still try to install the latest version since i dont think i upgraded it.

    Thanks
    Mike G.

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well i just updated FRAPS and that did not work.
    Mike G.

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict jmig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Lafayette, LA USA
    Posts
    440
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I had the same problem with a 7900 card. It is something with nVirdia drivers and FSX I found that if you go to window then, you can open the menus at the top.

    Interestingky, when I upgraded to a 8800GT the problem went away.
    John

    System:
    ASUS P5Q SE/R
    Intel Q9550 O/C to 3.4 GHz
    4 GB 1066 DDR2 RAM
    300 GB WD 10,000 RPM Raptor SATA Drive
    GeForce 8800 GT 512 KB RAM
    Matrox TH2Go with three 19" Sumsung 940 BX
    IR Track 4

  8. #8
    Tim
    Guest
    I can confirm that FSX's SP2 does indeed cause crashes.

    I tried ever trick/fix I read about at Avsim and SimFlight forums. Video drivers, FSX display, Bios, and .cfg file settings but nothing fixed the crashes. I then read a post to un-install SP2. That and only that fixed my crashes.

    If I remember correctly, launch the SP2 installer like you are doing an installation. A screen will dsiplay asking if you want to install or un-install. If the un-install does not fix your crashes, you can always re-install SP2.

    And yes, I am completely disappointed that MS will not release additional FSX support packs to correct ALL the issues. I do believe MS is sending the wrong signal to users and causing flight sim developers close their doors!

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    564
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim View Post
    I can confirm that FSX's SP2 does indeed cause crashes.
    I think the well-known Menu crash (which oddly I've never experienced, but then I'm using Acceleration not SP2), can be avoided by using the keyboard to get into the menus, not the mouse. I think once you are into a menu dialogue you are okay and safe to use the mouse.

    So, it is a matter of doing key presses like ALT W A to get to the Go To Airport dialogue, ALT O E D for display options. ALT D F for FSUIPC, and so on.

    Regards

    Pete

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Its funny that now with the new MB and CPU I am now getting the crashes but on my previous setup it was rock solid.
    Mike G.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FSBus crashing FS9
    By airbus319 in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2009, 03:11 PM
  2. Version 3.2 keeps crashing
    By imported_darrens in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-04-2005, 08:24 AM