Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    what sort of area are your sims taking up?

    i was just wondering what area your sim is taking up because i now have a dedicated " sim room" but wondering what sort of room would be best. so could you provide me with some dimentions and i can get a general idea of what room is taken up by the full sim. i am bouilding a half sim (ie captains side only) this would be best however full cockpit measurements would be fine.

    your advice would be much appreciated
    thanks
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  2. #2
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Geremy,

    My sim room uses a rear projection setup, so I need a long room to give me full width on the screen.

    I have a full sized cockpit and can safely say my room is 16 feet wide (5m aprox) X 19 feet (aprox 6m long)

    And I have a ceiling height of 8 feet (aprox 2.5m high)

    Hope that helps..

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    12ft x 20ft with a celing height of 7ft at the lowest point (sides) up to a pitch of 14ft this is the space that I have allocated to my Sim.
    Mike G.

  4. #4
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have a 12x14 room with 7'6" ceiling. I will be using the full size shell from FDS sitting on an 8" tall base. Top of sim will be 6'9"

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    4'x3' for the MIP and the center control stand extends the three feet out to about 7'.

    Mine is only two-thirds of the MIP though, so it would be another 20" wider if it was complete.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,486
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    My steel sim frame is about 1.5m square and sits down one end of a 4m x 5m room, the projector is 3.2 metres from the screen and the picture is 2m wide. I left enough room behind the seats for 'jump seat' observers who can sit on the window shelf.

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  7. #7
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,597
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    yeah, i forgot to bear in mind when i decide to invest in a projector for visuals i will need an appropriate lenth so the projector focuses to a large size so i will need quite long room.
    Geremy Britton
    Executive Assistant, MyCockpit Inc
    Head of GLB Flight Products
    www.geremy.co.uk

  8. #8
    500+ This must be a daytime job


    Efe Cem Elci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Istanbul, Turkey, Turkey
    Posts
    543
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Unfortunately (!) an ever-increasing area. Just finished my second shuffling around of the room in as many weeks.

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie


    steveeverson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    228
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    sim location

    have mine in a 7x12ft ish spare room - used a wide angle lens from a camcorder on my projector to enlarge the image for the short throw.
    Although I am toying with the idea of moving the sim to the garage as it's a bit longer and i'll be able to get some more cabin in. But I think my love of tinkering with old cars might be a problem there.....having said that, as i'm in the mycockpit madhouse, the sim wins every time!
    another bedroom boeing.....

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    157
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    mine is 7 by 4 meter with and 3.5 m high with the motion system in mind as it is hosting a piper twin now and used to have a Boeing cockpit inside, the room is big enough for some extra accomodations like flight planning desk ...
    [

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Usb/vga-external videocard...sort of.
    By lenne in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-03-2010, 03:34 PM
  2. Does Poldragonet have some sort of customer service?
    By tpdola2 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 07:23 PM
  3. Hello from Ireland...sort of!
    By NigelD in forum Welcome to MyCockpit New here? Introduce Yourself!
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-20-2008, 10:26 AM
  4. The T-38 is flying..well sort of.
    By jmig in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-24-2008, 08:14 AM
  5. Joystick, sort of.
    By Rodney in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2006, 02:48 AM