Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Push to Talk

  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Whitby
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Push to Talk

    I have searched the forum and can't seem to come up with an answer to what has to have been asked and solved long ago. My apologies if I have missed it.

    I have a pair of real 737 yolks in my sim and don't want to modify them. For reasons I won't get into I would like to use the AP disconnect button as the PTT button.

    I have Squawkbox installed on the main FS computer to which I have the phidget card plugged in. I have the second part of SB installed on a second computer which is where the mic and sound card are.

    I have set the offset (can't remember what it is) in the custom phidget screen (as I couldn't find a PTT button in any of the normal releases eg) 429 etc). When I push the button on the yolk and I look at the small dialogue box that SB invokes on the FS machine I see the Tx light up as it should. The problem is that the mic doesn't get turned on even though the Tx light comes on.

    My guess is the command from the phidget card is being sent to the FS machine as that is where it is attached and the little SB dialogue box is, however, that is not where the mic is located which is on the other machine. My guess is the command stops at the FS machine and never makes it across the network to the other machine - and why would it. I haven't told it to push the button on the second machine for the mic.

    Does this make sense? Is this correct or is there another reason? If so what do I do to transmit this phidget button to the second machine? If not how do you make the mic come on if you have SB installed on two machines with the Phidget card plugged into Computer A and the Mic on Computer B. If Phidgets only talked to FSUIPC this would be a piece of cake.

    Please help..........

    Bruce Day
    Toronto

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Bruce. I'm not using Phidgets so cant comment on that... but are you using a joystick type card for your yoke? If so, I suggest you connect your button using the FSUIPC interface in FS, rather than externally. You go to the assign buttons page in FSUIPC, press the button you want to use on your yoke (has to be recognisable as a joystick button), and then choose the SB actions for it on the right-side of the window. You'll see options for SB transmit and release (i.e. button down and up)
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by dbday View Post


    I have set the offset (can't remember what it is) in the custom phidget screen (as I couldn't find a PTT button in any of the normal releases eg) 429 etc). When I push the button on the yolk and I look at the small dialogue box that SB invokes on the FS machine I see the Tx light up as it should. The problem is that the mic doesn't get turned on even though the Tx light comes on.

    My guess is the command from the phidget card is being sent to the FS machine as that is where it is attached and the little SB dialogue box is, however, that is not where the mic is located which is on the other machine. My guess is the command stops at the FS machine and never makes it across the network to the other machine - and why would it. I haven't told it to push the button on the second machine for the mic.
    If the SB3 box tx indicates activity and widefs is properly installed then the signal reaches it's destination. Check if the right sound card is activated as recording device and that the mic volume is set properly.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Make sure the mic is not muted. If all this still does not work, move the mic to the other machine.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Whitby
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for the suggestions.

    Nic I do not have a joystick card. I wish I was using one then I wouldn't be posting this I would have been using FSUIPC as you suggest. Unfortuneately Phidgets don't talk to FSUIPC and vice versa.

    Andy, the mic works perfectly. If I push the PTT button I assigned in SB (on my second computer) which in my case I used F11 there is no problem the mic comes on and the ATC etc can hear me fine. Problem is when I use the button (on the real 737 yolks that I have set up the AP disconnect button] in the phidget software) even though the Tx light comes on in the SB dialogue box it doesn't turn on the mic. So it is not the mic, it is that that the mic is not being turned on.

    Anders, I think you have the understanding and I would have agreed with you but it doesn't seem to work that way. I can guarantee you that the Tx light comes on when the button on the yolk is pushed. I can also assure you that Wideclient is set up properly because it works for everything else. However, just because the light comes on does not mean that the mic has been turned on as you can see from my note to Andy above. It seems that the command ends at the FS computer. I need to transfer that command across the network to the second computer.

    Anders do you have this working on your machine in the same configuration eg) SB installed on two computers, using phidget NOT FSUIPC, to turn on the mic?

    I need to find someone who is actually in my situation and has it working.

    Thanks for the suggestions guys. Every comment counts. Someone might say something that will twig me to the problem/solution.

    Bruce

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Were you aware that the AP disconnect switch on a Boeing yoke is a normally-closed type switch?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by dbday View Post

    Anders do you have this working on your machine in the same configuration eg) SB installed on two computers, using phidget NOT FSUIPC, to turn on the mic?
    Yes I have it working that way but with IoCards and sioc.

    I don't know about Phidgets but check if it's possible to emulate keystrokes or DxButtons and assign the commands, as Nic suggested, through Fsuipc.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  8. #8
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Whitby
    Posts
    5
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks guys. I think I need to do some learning on how to send keystrokes on Phidget cards. I see it in the programming box but can't figure out how to do it.

    Is there a flight sim Phidget manual posted somewhere that shows how to set things up for flight sim using keystrokes?

    Thks, Bruce

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing Skunk Works View Post
    Were you aware that the AP disconnect switch on a Boeing yoke is a normally-closed type switch?
    Wasn't aware of that.. can you explain what implications that has for wiring and interfacing?

    thanks
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  10. #10
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It means the circuit is always closed unless the button is pushed so unless you can reverse the function in the software, you'll have a hot mic the whole time you're on-line.

    This switch is normally closed to allow voltage to pass through that holds the autopilot magnetic and solenoid held switches to the engage position.

    Why not use the original PTT on the yoke?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How can I make COMM TEST button PUSH to TALK button ???
    By Nick1150 in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-29-2010, 09:50 AM
  2. need help on how to make a Push to talk Button on Yoke
    By 388TH_A in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 06:31 PM
  3. Quick Q, on push to talk
    By Geremy Britton in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-22-2007, 12:37 PM
  4. Push-To-Talk Button
    By flightdeck in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-16-2007, 02:08 AM