Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Master Caution Light - interfacing

    Hi,

    I'm trying to use FS2Phidget to have a Master Caution Light and Warning Light illuminate when I get these in Flight Simulator.

    Is there a variable / offset in FSX for (a) illuminating each of these lights, and (b) silencing them?

    I don't use Project Magenta yet and I'm sure it's possible in PM, but hoping it will be possible within FSX.

    Thank you

    Paul
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    341
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi

    In FSX it is just a gauge that displays this indication that is not linked to an Offset. So there is no way to read or write to most of this gauges because they work only internal with their own variables.
    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    Tim
    Guest
    Hi Paul,

    There are no warning or caution light offsets for FS9 or FSX. To my understanding, they are coded from within each aircraft's panel, so there is no way of grapping a light's On/Off value.

    The PM site does list all the FS and PM offsets. Master Warning and Master Caution are not listed.

    Only way to do it is to manually do the logic curcuits, such as, If Oil Pressure = 0, Then Illunimate Master Warning Light. This would be required for all the possible scenarios that would cause the lights to illuminate.

    I believe you can do this with PMSystems. Not sure about PS2Phiget.

    Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie


    steveeverson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    228
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    -got a way to do that

    Used a light dependant resistor fixed to a bit of the screen and a small relay circuit to drive the LED/light. Works really well. Away from home at moment but i'll post some more info when i get back if that helps..
    Steve
    another bedroom boeing.....

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wow that's an amazing solution. I'd be very very interested to hear more. Thanks Steve

    Quote Originally Posted by steveeverson View Post
    Used a light dependant resistor fixed to a bit of the screen and a small relay circuit to drive the LED/light. Works really well. Away from home at moment but i'll post some more info when i get back if that helps..
    Steve
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    215
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey Tim,

    As I remember it, FS2Phidget does allow logical tests for activating outputs. For example, with the landing gear, you can have the gear in motion red light flash while the gear is mid-way, and go out or green depending on whether up or down.

    I'll work on the basis of your suggestion though. It's a shame that FSX doesn't support this but clearly there's ways around it which work satisfactorily.

    Cheers

    Paul

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim View Post
    Hi Paul,

    There are no warning or caution light offsets for FS9 or FSX. To my understanding, they are coded from within each aircraft's panel, so there is no way of grapping a light's On/Off value.

    The PM site does list all the FS and PM offsets. Master Warning and Master Caution are not listed.

    Only way to do it is to manually do the logic curcuits, such as, If Oil Pressure = 0, Then Illunimate Master Warning Light. This would be required for all the possible scenarios that would cause the lights to illuminate.

    I believe you can do this with PMSystems. Not sure about PS2Phiget.

    Hope this helps.
    VANCOUVER
    Jet fighter / single pilot sim, plus thinking of a 777 as a secondary sim.

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie


    steveeverson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    228
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Mycockpit.org My LDR system

    Made a little video to show how i did it with light dependant resistors
    Hope that helps, any questions give me a shout..



    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fH0EmK42xQY"]YouTube - PMDG Caution and Warning[/ame]

    Cheers
    Steve
    another bedroom boeing.....

  8. #8
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Steve, that is SLICK!!!!!! Very Good!!!!!

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Outstanding. So simple, yet so complex. Great feedback Steve,

    Thanks
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor kiek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,621
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FYI

    For the Level-D 767 there are as well FSUIPC offsets as Opencockpits SIOC variables for the Master switch and the Warning & Caution lights.

    This information is provided by the Level-D SDK and made available as offsets and vars via my free software tools FSCONV and Lekseecon.

    see www.nicokaan.nl

    Nico Kaan

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Engravity master caution etc
    By Clive in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 05:37 AM
  2. Master Caution / Master Warning lights using FS2Phidget5 (noob)
    By mhayling in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 02:08 PM
  3. master caution light.
    By Jackpilot in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 11:55 AM
  4. Master Caution and Master Warnings
    By luisgordo in forum Dodiano's Airbus Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-10-2008, 10:20 PM
  5. Master Caution Switches
    By Westozy in forum My Cockpit Update
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-13-2007, 11:35 AM