Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member Lezam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Boeing Iocards... but how many do I need?

    So after studying the forums for a while it seems like opencockpits with Nico Kaan's solution will best meet my needs for the 767 cockpit. Now its time to order, but I cant figure out how many cards I need!

    I compiled a list of every function on the 767 overhead, mcp, mip and fmc, with inputs and outputs of each type. I was wondering if someone could help me figure out how many inputs/outputs would actually be used on the mastercard, so I can figure out how many I need to order. I am extremely confused about how to figure the amount of pins coming out of the input and output, going into the mastercard etc.

    Also, is there a way to make my own break out boxes? I am trying to cut costs to a minimum. It seems ordering the mastercard kit from opencockpits is very economical, and if there was a cheaper way to get around buying their break out boxes it would be great! If you need any clarification, please ask! Thanks alot for your help in advance, I am soo confused!

    -------------------------------
    FMC Inputs: 70
    FMC Outputs: 2

    ..Overhead Inputs..
    Push buttons:76
    ON-OFF switch:6
    Potentiometers:8
    Rotary switches.
    -2 options:1
    -3 options:15
    -4 options:4
    -5 options:4
    Guarded ON-MON-OFF switches:1
    ON-OFF switches:6

    ..Overhead Outputs..
    7 Segment Display:56
    Indicator lights:94
    Split on/off indicator lights:49

    ..MCP Inputs..
    Push buttons:20
    ON-OFF switch:3
    Potentiometers:7
    Potentiometer with click:1

    ..MCP Outputs..
    7 Segment Display:34
    Indicator lights:14
    Split on/off indicator lights:4

    ..MIP Inputs..
    Push buttons:28
    Guarded ON-OFF switches:2
    Potentiometers:4
    Rotary switches.
    -3 options:2
    -7 options:1
    -8 options:1

    ..MIP Outputs..
    Indicator lights:41
    Split on/off indicator lights:1

  2. #2
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    13
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Lezam:

    each master card provide 64 outputs and 72 imputs, and each USB expansion can manage up to 4 master card. imputs are grouped by 9 with a commun ground, to make your own break out box is easy, from my point of view i suggest to start with 1 usb expansión and 1 master card, it will provide you with a clear overview on how the system works.

    hope it help you
    Daniel Otero

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member Lezam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for your quick reply Daniel.

    Let me clarify a bit more on my original question with a picture. Does each one of the ends of a switch count as an "input", for example does this picture count as three inputs on the mastercard?



    On the flipside, would this count as two inputs?



    Also, are there any tutorials on making your own break out box you would recommend?

    Sorry if it sounds horribly simple, I am just trying to get everything straight

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    13
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi:

    Dont worry the race allways begin on a start line .

    I guess the first picture is an on-on switch so it means 2 imputs, the center pole is common and the others input 1-2.

    The other picture is a normal switch on-off action) two poles 1 input.

    You can think a normal switch (on-off action) 1 imput a led 1 output.

    I dont remember now a manual for a break box, may be Nico page???

    Regards
    Daniel Otero

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member Lezam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    92
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Sorry, im still a bit confused. Something like this would require 6 inputs?


    What about a 12 positions rotary switch like this? Would it depend on how many inputs I set it to be?

  6. #6
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    13
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Lezam View Post
    Sorry, im still a bit confused. Something like this would require 6 inputs?


    It looks like a Gray type rotary encoder, so you need two imputs, other types need an additional card, the encoders card. Nico Kaan web page provide you a great technical explanation about this topic.

    What about a 12 positions rotary switch like this? Would it depend on how many inputs I set it to be?
    Yes, you need 12 inputs if you use 12 positions, 6 inputs for six ......

    Regards Daniel Otero

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok so can i ask about this as I believe the "bug" has well and truly bitten me and shaken me up, down, left, right etc... I started building my MCP with push buttons and toggles and as i have progressed I have done a lot of reading but it can seem ambiguous at times and it swings everything, all understanding, back to square 1!!

    So, if i buy a mastercard, which i am planning, i get 72 digital inputs and 64 digital outputs - is that ON the card by default which means i could get away with ONLY the mastercard if all i wanted was 72 inputs and 64 outputs? OR does the mastercard CONTROL 72 inputs and 64 outputs - meaning i need a mastercard AND other interface cards for the 72 inputs and 64 outputs?

    I hope i am making sense.

    For example, if i bought 1xUSB Expansion card (kit)(for growth), 1x mastercard (kit) and 2x Displays Card (kit) I could have a fully functional MCP and have some growth from the Display Card for Radios and or EFIS etc?

    Thanks again for all the help - trust me - I may seem terminally dumb but I am a project manager and I ask 1,000,000 times to be sure

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Jake 747 400's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    United kingdom
    Posts
    176
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    There are some things that USB expansion boards cant do,
    for everything else theres master card.

    Have a good week
    Jake
    Boeing 744ever jakes747sim.webs.com

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member salautom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Zeewolde (The Netherlands)
    Posts
    55
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Maybe you can have a look at my 'interfacing diagram'
    it is for the B777, but you can get an idea.
    I'm only not using the mastercard for outputs, but the USB outputs card, because of the dim function.
    you can find the document at my site in the downloads section
    Regards,

    Henk.

    (my hobby: http://777simulator.nl)
    (FSX/Sim-Avionics/OpenCockpits)

  10. #10
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks a ton Henk. I am on my way to have a look now.

    Hey Henk, quick question - I visited your site and i was looking at your MCP. Those 7 seg displays are they 7segs or LCDs? I see they show V/S etc.

    How did you cut that panel? CNC?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. IOCards...
    By gblock in forum OpenCockpits General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-16-2009, 12:57 PM
  2. IOCards connection to PC
    By MicroHellas in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2008, 11:57 AM
  3. IOCards Encoder Help, please!
    By Andy Butt in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 03:58 PM
  4. Re: IOCards
    By Rob Archer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2004, 06:27 PM
  5. IOCards for sale
    By Rob Archer in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-14-2004, 08:47 PM