Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    161
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Auto-tune ... rebellion !

    Hello folks !

    Two nights ago, for trial, I switched on the Auto-Tune function for NAV radios, via the CDU setting page ...
    Last night I remembered it was left on, and went back to the CDU to switch it off.
    To my great surprise, pressing the correspondent LSK (I think it's 1L ...) again did NO changes: the NAV auto-tune function just refused to be switched off !

    Then I shut down the CDU program and went to browse the CDU.ini, but found no line dedicated to switching this feature on/off from there ...

    Now I am thinking of using a PM Offset tied to an available control button ... but I miss the values !!!

    Any one knows ?

    Thanks,
    Eugenio.
    p.s. cdu ver is 393
    Last edited by eudoniga; 01-29-2008 at 08:12 AM. Reason: added p.s.
    Happy landings and always three greens !!

    Eu

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    341
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by eudoniga View Post
    Hello folks !

    ...
    Then I shut down the CDU program and went to browse the CDU.ini, but found no line dedicated to switching this feature on/off from there ...

    Now I am thinking of using a PM Offset tied to an available control button ... but I miss the values !!!

    Any one knows ?
    Why do you need to read it in the ini file ?? Is there a need to know what you set manuall in CDU settings menu?

    Just check the Offset manual there you will find the corresponding / control Offset.

    http://www.projectmagenta.com/pmoffsets.html

    And they work, without a !!
    Regards
    Thomas

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    161
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Oh, well ...

    No, there was a need to try a different way to change that setting, provided that the usual one was not working (and I still can't figure out why).

    So altering it from the .ini was the first possible shortcut that came to my mind, but it turned out that this parameter is not present in the .ini; that's why I secondly thought of using a direct offset.

    Now, I will surely use the offset (542 found in the source you pointed me to, still given that using the CDU alone is NOT enough ...

    Thanks and regards.
    Happy landings and always three greens !!

    Eu

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are you sure the ini file is not read only? Had to ask..... I know sometimes I make the silly little mistakes....
    Bob Reed

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    341
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Reed View Post
    Are you sure the ini file is not read only? Had to ask..... I know sometimes I make the silly little mistakes....
    Some settings are not saved in the ini file, they are saved in the cdu.set file.
    Regards
    Thomas

  6. #6
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    161
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    ... not that one, maybe another !

    No, no, it's not the case ... maybe the silly mistake I made is elsewhere; yet, I don't understand why - on that very same options page - I can change other settings with the other LSKs (eg LBS/KGS, INCHES/MILLIBARS, etc.) but not this one (that's why I called it "rebellion" ...).

    Besides, though being "locked" in the auto-tune mode, of which I am sure at least about nav1, that tune itself along the flight, the mode flags on the NAV/COM/XPDR page of the CDU are all "M" and not a single one shows "A" ...

    Therefore - I guessed - each radio can be put in Manual or Auto Tune mode, but I can't figure how using the offset 5428 defined in the PM list.

    Any suggestion ?
    Happy landings and always three greens !!

    Eu

Similar Threads

  1. Spoiler arm auto-deployment
    By vidarf in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 02:07 PM
  2. auto throttle
    By Spatate in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-05-2009, 05:16 PM
  3. Can someone tell me what this tune is?
    By Michael Carter in forum MyCockpit Crew Rest (Off topic chat forum)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-12-2007, 02:30 AM
  4. Auto Throttle
    By garyk007 in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2007, 12:19 PM