Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Homemade a C172 Lights switch Panel

    I have been looking around for a good template for the C172 lights panel. I am making the panel with a Hagstrom encoder card and toggle switches. Couldnt find a good background so I made this one. Anyone is welcome to it. It is a .png file but can be opened in Paint. I didnt make an attempt to be exacting in dimensions but it should be fairly close. I made it so that I could fit the switches.

    Scott
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Very nice job.. Thank you for sharing!
    Bob Reed

  3. #3
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    20
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    very nice job.

  4. #4
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks great!!! Thanks a million

  5. #5
    25+ Posting Member RojanTrojan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Wales, UK
    Posts
    62
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Scott,

    Great work! I've done something similar. I made the design in photoshop and constructed it out of aluminium.

    Rhydian



  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That looks great.

    Couple questioins if you dont mind?

    1. Did you just print out on paper then laminate the paper and finally just glue it to the aluminum?

    2. Where did you get those switches for your Master switch? It looks great!

    3. Finally, what kind of toggles did you use? I used SPST but they dont work right (just tried first time last night). I am thinking I should have got SPDT but I thought that type took a ground and two wires rather than a ground and a single wire.

    I am using for instance the "Landing Lights Toggle" function in FSUIPC and trying to map it to my switch.

    Thanks, and nice job on the panel!

    Scott

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You don't want the Toggle option as you would then need to turn the switch on, and then turn it on again to turn them off. use the "FS LANDING LIGHTS" option without the toggle in it.

    You will find now when the switch is on the lights are on, and when it is off the lights are off.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member RojanTrojan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Wales, UK
    Posts
    62
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Scott,

    Thanks for your kind comments, to answer your questions:

    I used the printed photoshop design just as a guide. I overlayed it onto some aluminium and drilled the holes. I shaped the square holes with a metal file - it took forever. The panel was sent to an automotive repair company and painted matt black I then passed the panel and my design to a laser stencil company which cut down to the primer to make the white paint show over the black paint.



    Toggle switches were bought here:

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?...=2360&doy=20m1

    They are simply SPST toggles like yours.

    Rocker switches were bought here:

    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...duct&R=4407039

    And I use Simkits 32 digital input controller for the switches to interface with FSUIPC.

    http://www.simkits.com/product.php?prodid=605

    Cheers

    Rhydian
    www.cessnasim.blogspot.com

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Laser engraving..

    No wonder it looks so good. I will have to check that out and see what they charge around here at the local sign companies. That is the ultimate.

    Thanks for the switch info also.

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict XOrionFE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sugar Grove, IL
    Posts
    307
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks Trevor.

    I looked and see only the one option within FS for lights which uses Ctrl-L called "Landing lights (on/off)"

    I will give it a shot. I did manage to get it working though somewhat with the SPST toggle switch using the Hagstrom progamming. I went into the Macro function and there is an option to do an action when the switch is activated and then another function when deactivated. That worked. Now the only downside is that if the switches are on by default for a function, then the toggle will be activating just opposite of what you expect. Solution I guess is that when this occurs just to use the keyboard but not ideal.

    I will keep reading, researching and posting questions. With the encoder I am now like a kid in a candy store!

    I can envision some sleepless nights ahead
    Scott

Similar Threads

  1. USB Switch panel
    By Jordan Farmer in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 03:05 AM
  2. Saitek Multi Panel and Switch panel
    By baw536 in forum I/O Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 04:31 PM
  3. radio panel for c172 using goflight
    By Asid in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-13-2008, 11:57 AM