Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Using Phigdets directly with pmSystems

    Hi,
    In a great overview by Gert van der Winden I see that you need FS2PhUIPC.ini
    I think this was made in march 2005.

    Since (july?) pmSystems has direct control over phidgets via phidgets.txt
    So it was easy to get the parkingbrake light assigned to a LED64 and it works as it should.
    Now I want to make the autobrake switch to work on a 0/16/16 Phidgets board.
    Can I make this work directly in phidgets.txt (pmSystems file) or do I still also need to make the modifications to the FS2PhUIPC.ini as Gert described.

    Kester
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Found an answer to my Question

    A collegue builder John Ebbers from Nijmegen, The Netherlands posted the same kind of question to the Project Magenta forum and Enrico gave a clear answer I would like to share here.

    Another tip from John is to go to the menu of pmSystems and check the following boxes:
    - Development Mode
    - Show Variable Name
    When you move your mouse over the screen it will show the variable name, offset and present value.
    When you change the switch setting the value will also change.

    Copy and assign these names, offsets and values to the switch in the file phidgets.txt in the pmSystems folder
    Kester

    Hello,

    > the 3 position switch for GEN1 switch we cannot configure
    > correctly
    > This is the line:
    > 4590 DI00 gen1 (this is when switch to above, so off)
    > 4590 DI01 gen1 (this is when switch to below, so on)
    >
    > what do we have to add after gen1... how does the offset
    > works.
    > We using the latest PMS 76.


    // [DeviceSerial] DIXX [VariableName]
    // [DeviceSerial] DIXX [VariableName] INV // Inverts 1 =
    off, 0 = on
    // [DeviceSerial] DIXX [VariableName] MOM // Momentary
    Switches
    // [DeviceSerial] DIXX [VariableName] 5 // sets value 5 when
    on, 0 when off
    // [DeviceSerial] DIXX [VariableName] 1 2 // sets value 1
    when on, to 2 when off
    // [DeviceSerial] DIXX [VariableName] 1 - // sets value 1
    when on, does nothing when off

    You would need to use, as described, the values 0, 1, 2 as
    necessary.

    > 4590 DI00 gen1 (this is when switch to above, so off)
    > 4590 DI01 gen1 (this is when switch to below, so on)

    Thus if you have three inputs for the positions...

    4590 DI00 gen1 0
    4590 DI01 gen1 1
    4590 DI01 gen1 2

    If you have two inputs (both off, one on, then the other one
    on...

    4590 DI00 gen1 1 0
    4590 DI01 gen1 2 -

    DI02 would do nothing in the off position

    "John Ebbers" wrote in message
    news:372847.74690@wb.onvix.com...
    > hi there,
    >
    > Something new here in our cockpit.
    >
    > Now we placed the Phidget board on the same pc as
    > PMSystems is running, so no
    > need to install the Phidget software anymore.
    >
    > Assigned that Phidget is connected in the PMSystems menu.
    > PMSystems detects the cards perfectly and created the new
    > option in the
    > menu.
    >
    > Now we assigned some overhead switches by filling in the
    > PMSystem names,exp.
    > landinglightR, seatbelts etc etc works perfect.
    > But now the hard one.....
    > the 3 position switch for GEN1 switch we cannot configure
    > correctly
    > This is the line:
    > 4590 DI00 gen1 (this is when switch to above, so off)
    > 4590 DI01 gen1 (this is when switch to below, so on)
    >
    > what do we have to add after gen1... how does the offset
    > works.
    > We using the latest PMS 76.
    >
    > thanks, regards
    > John & Bart
    >
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

  3. #3
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Bob Reed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Holley, New York U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,880
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Guys! Well the answer is that PMSystems does not have to be used as it comes "out of the box"! One of the things is, it is totaly programable! In other words if you don't like the 737 logic in it.. Re do it, want to use PMSystems with another type aircraft? Program the logic for it. So adding what is not in FS is exactly what PMsystems was written for. Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict ekezz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nieuw Vennep - Netherlands
    Posts
    339
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Roger that!

    Thanks Bob, good addition.
    My posting was meant as a partial How to.
    Kester
    Kester Meijer
    http://www.mycockpit.nl - to see my cockpit construction
    Certified De-Ice Supervisor EHAM

Similar Threads

  1. Pmsystems
    By kenlie_no in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-31-2008, 07:06 PM
  2. Volaris takes delivery of the first two directly ordered Airbus A319
    By Airbus RSS News Feed in forum Airbus Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2006, 05:41 AM
  3. would a 737 cdu from your company fit directly to a 737 ?
    By steve diamond in forum CDU/FMS and Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-13-2006, 04:32 PM
  4. Using Phigdets directly with pmSystems
    By ekezz in forum PMSystems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 05:47 PM
  5. Using Phigdets directly with pmSystems
    By ekezz in forum Cockpit Software: Miscellaneous
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 05:47 PM