Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Triplehead2go and Vista

    A very disturbing fault has emerged with using Triplehead2go and widescreen setups such as I use with 3 projectors.
    I use my screens at 3840 by 720 without any problems on my analogue Triplehead, but Matrox have not bothered to upgrade and support their drivers to use Windows Vista !!
    If you need to use Vista then I guess you are forced to buy a new digital model from Matrox!!
    Not what I call very good support.
    Regards..............Brian W.

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Saskatchewan,Canada
    Posts
    251
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are you talking about the SGU ,surround gaming utility ?

    It says on their website that 2.04 (Dec./07) supports Vista and Vistax64 for both digital and analog machines.

    I don't have the Triplehead2go yet, but I'm planning on getting the analog one to run 3 projectors.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie magicaldr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK, Surrey
    Posts
    168
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hmm, I use vista and although I don't have a running THTG setup (I have an ATI card and need a NVidia one for 3 screens) it did work when i ran some tests. Anyone else tried the analogue on Vista?


    FSX | Piper Warrior | GoFlight

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I should have added that they do not support widescreen in Vista with their TMET.
    Brian W.

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by brianwilliamson View Post
    A very disturbing fault has emerged with using Triplehead2go and widescreen setups such as I use with 3 projectors.
    I use my screens at 3840 by 720 without any problems on my analogue Triplehead, but Matrox have not bothered to upgrade and support their drivers to use Windows Vista !!
    If you need to use Vista then I guess you are forced to buy a new digital model from Matrox!!
    Not what I call very good support.
    Regards..............Brian W.
    Brian,

    Have you telephoned Matrox support and discussed this issue over the telephone?

    I would hope that you had, prior to posting that they have bad support. Please share with us what the technicians said. I would imagine that if you didn't get a good result from the first caller you asked to speak to the Customer service Manager.

    Please share with us your experience to lead you to this bad support conclusion.

    Best regards,

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    This is the reply to an email I sent asking if the widescreen was workable in Vista:

    The 1280*720 is 16:9 wide screen resolution which is not by default supported by TripleHead2Go Analog Edition.

    There is a tool called TMET (Triple Mode Expander Tool) , but unfortunately this tool works only under Windows XP.

    You call try this tool on your XP system. http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/co...nfo.php?id=161

    Thank you.


    I did then email back stating I was completely dissapointed that they did not support their product with the release of Vista. As yet no reply.

    Regards................Brian W.

  7. #7
    300+ Forum Addict


    brianwilliamson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Gold Coast-AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    411
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here is their very nice reply as to why they do not upgrade their products after a new release from Microsoft operating system such as Vista:

    On our website, it is clearly stated that TMET is not compatible with Windows Vista.

    http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/gx...th2go/tmet.php

    So, for your case, our suggestions are:

    1. Downgrade to Windows XP

    2. Upgrade your TripleHead2Go digital edition.

    Thank you for your understanding


    Brian W.

  8. #8
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    That is indeed a shame.

    How long ago did you buy your TH2Go Brian?

    I would be talking to someone on the phone if I were you, and see how far up the food chain you can get. They shouldn't be able to get away with that kind of an answer.

    You could impose that they never warned you in writing that it would never be compatible with upgraded software, etc..

    Good luck and keep us posted.

    Trev
    ________________________
    Trevor Hale

Similar Threads

  1. triplehead2go
    By Mr. Midnight in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 09:00 AM
  2. triplehead2go digital
    By eagle50 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 06:23 AM
  3. Triplehead2go....where to buy?
    By Crescent in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2008, 09:12 PM
  4. TripleHead2Go vs. WideView.It
    By bubbapat in forum Cockpit Building Tutorials
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 06-13-2008, 02:21 PM
  5. Triplehead2go
    By sas550 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-29-2007, 10:41 AM