Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Off line for who knows how long !!

    Hi all,

    Went to bed on 1st Jan as normal, after a a browse on my fave forum

    Woke up on 2nd Jan with no Internet connection ....... the ADSL link from my phone line is dead.

    It has now been 5 days and still no connection. The service I am getting from my ISP in the UK (Orange) is appalling. Support is from India and the agents just read from scripts - they don't LISTEN to anything you are telling them!

    The strange thing is that my phone line (the voice part) is working normally - it is just that the ADSL light on my model is now flashing permanently which indicated a problem. I also ran a diagnostic program which indicated "ADSL Link Down".

    Orange seem stumped by this and claim everything should be as normal. Basicaly, they don't want to know!

    So I am typing this from my Father in Law's house, (can't even access this site from work - it's blocked!), where I have access once per week at best.

    Any ideas anyone on what may have caused my ADSL link to die overnight, without provocation ?!

    Thanks,
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Bad news!! I can appreciate your frustration, it was 7 weeks after moving house before I was connected - didnt realise how much I use the net until then!

    Have you tried swapping broadband filters, use a different one?

    Good luck
    Mike

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie


    steveeverson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lancashire UK
    Posts
    228
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Adsl

    Had similar problem at my friend john Davis during worldflight- not good when your 747-400 simulator is connected to vatsim etc. Got BT out in the end after a few days and they replaced the cable from his house to the telegraph pole. An old cable combined with a bit of a short meant that the telephone was ok but the high bandwidth ADSL signal wasnt strong enough.
    So you can have Voice but no ADSL sometimes. Be worth speaking to BT to check the connections.- (think we got looked after as it was a charity event and we needed someone quick but worth a try)
    CHeers
    Steve

  4. #4
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    sites blocked at work - What everyone goes on games when the boss isn't looking dont they? are you a teacher or something!

    gez

  5. #5
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Try unplugging and letting the modem sit for a good 10 minutes before you reboot it.
    I used to see this problem fairly often. Its usually that the modem has hung up internally on a packet and will not clear until all the juice is drained from it.

    If that doesnt do it, try replacing the modem.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi guys,

    All fixed at last ........... wow, 6 days with no Internet ....... it really makes you realise how dependent we're all becomming on our access to the outside world via the internet!

    The problem was with BT (British Telecom) but for all the problems I had with my ISP (Orange), they did come good in the end by fully managing the issue with BT - I did not have to call them or get involved, Orange got BT to reset my ADSL and thankfully, that fixed the issue!

    Thanks for all the suggestions and help!

    Now, I got to get my mycockpit.org fix and see what's been going on across the 'boards!

    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Welcome back - seems like ages
    You've got to get your fix of MyCockpit.org!

  8. #8
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by David Rogers View Post
    Now, I got to get my mycockpit.org fix and see what's been going on across the 'boards!

    You must of been getting the shakes.... are you ok now WOW!!! six days without internet.....

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It was tough guys, but I'm ok now.... I think!

    My next challenge is to get some batteries for my digital camera, so I can give an update on my A320 / A330 / Generic cockpit ........ it's quite close to completion.... (well, as we all know, we never really complete out cockpits ).

    Have made some test flights on it - full operational flights, (although off-line, using Radar Contact on my 2nd PC)... one A320 flight and one A330 flight.... performed better than I could have dreamed ..... a good opportunity to test all of my Hagstrom connected switches and push buttons, all of which performed flawlessly.

    Will get some photos up as soon as possible - I will definately always build my own parts and panels from hereon, wherever possible. As well as saving a small fortune, it is so rewarding when most of your pit is self made. Especially for me, as I had zero experience of cutting even a single piece of wood, and zero experience of wiring a plug, much less a set of 18 switches.

    Main highlight is that I finally have a Pedestal ! (home built of course ), and I am so happy at how it turned out. Its the part I was most nervous about, yet it's turned out to be one of the finest looking parts of my pit. I have working Airbus starter switches too !

    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  10. #10
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Show and tell then please!

    Mike
    (Currently playing around with a 7" monitor to see if I can get it clear enough to show RadarContact text)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. on line flying
    By spiro in forum Virtual Airlines (VA) General Disscussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-22-2012, 07:37 AM
  2. How long are they sticking around?
    By AlexJ in forum General Aviation (GA) Builder Disccusion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-21-2010, 09:23 AM
  3. Lat/long waypoints in CDU
    By Jackpilot in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-15-2007, 10:30 PM
  4. How long.........
    By JBaymore in forum Phidgets & Cockpit Simulator Builder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-28-2005, 07:45 AM