Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Project Magenta Setup

    Hey guys,

    Ive been looking at the Project Majenta for some time and am considering using this over PMDG for my 737NG.

    Could someone give me the run down on how it works, like how many computers you would need to run it, how the PC's are networked etc.

    Maybe share some diagrams of your Project Magenta Setup.

    Cheers

  2. #2
    150+ Forum Groupie flightdeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    LOWW
    Posts
    174
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Gidday,
    in this manual you may find answers to most of your questions:
    http://www.projectmagenta.com/resour...gentaDoc11.pdf

    Cheers
    René Billiani
    www.fly737.com

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks, i have read this but im basically after what others have done in there setup using Project Magenta.

    If they could describe their project, how many PC,s were used etc. using Project Magenta and how easy they found it to set up?
    René Billiani "Did you use Projecta magenta?"
    Last edited by ozziesim; 01-04-2008 at 06:13 PM. Reason: miss spelt

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie flightdeck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    LOWW
    Posts
    174
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, here we go:
    Yes, I use Project Magenta!

    My setup consists of 6 computers:
    No. 1: Flight Simulator 2004
    No. 2: PMsystems (connected to the overhead panel)
    No. 3: PM Boeing Glass Cockpit (PFD and ND Captain) + PM CDU
    No. 4: PM Boeing Glass Cockpit (PFD and ND FO) + PM RCDU
    No. 5: PM Boeing Glass Cockpit (Upper EICAS + Lower EICAS)
    No. 6: PM Instructor Station

    All 6 computers are connected via WideFS

    On the computers with the PM Glass Cockpit you need newer graphic cards with a good Open GL performance to ensure a clean and fluid display.

    The setup is very easy, took me 5 minutes for each client.
    René Billiani
    www.fly737.com

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    106
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks for taking the time to document that, your sim is one i look at regularly, that kinda paints a clearer picture.

    With regards to the computers do they all need to be powerful ones ? or just the ones with PM Glass. ?

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict NicD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hobart, Australia
    Posts
    443
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here's ours http://www.insitesolutions.com.au/73...C_hardware.htm

    Although its changed a bit. The KVM/VGA switch is gone (replaced by UltraVNC software), and PC05 and PC03 both have dual head outputs now and we've added 8" touchscreens off each for dual EFB.
    Nic D'Alessandro
    737NG builder (Hobart, Australia)
    http://simsation.com.au

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Trevor Hale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,432
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hey

    My setup is as follows. 1.flightsim machine running pmsounds. 2.Glass cockpit PFD/ND and MCP. 3.Glass cockpit ECAS and stanby inst. 4.PM Instructor station and VATSIM 5.PM SYSTEMS and CDU. 6.Active Sky 7.SAWXR and PM Getweather.

    Everything works through FSUIPC and WIDECLIENT


    Best regards.

    Trev

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Ok, here is my setup for my B744 cockpit
    PC1 Amd 4800+ FLIGHTSIM + MCP
    PC2 Amd 4800+ (CAPt PFD/ND) + CDU
    PC3 Intel 3,2 Ghz (F/O PFD/ND) + RCDU
    PC4 EICAS
    PC5 LOWER EICAS ( very low end machines)
    PC6 Intel 3,2Ghz PM SYSTEM, PM SOUNDS, PM get weather - Active Sky +other system programs as refueling , time sync

    Pls also note that you can not use the PMDG logic together with PM

    B. Rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

  9. #9
    500+ This must be a daytime job mpl330's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Yorkshire - UK
    Posts
    513
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    Part way through my build but my plan is:

    PC1 - AMD64 x2 4800 - FS + Pmsystems & Radar Contact (FS9 only uses 1 core of the dual CPU so I reckon Pmsystems,RC & OS will run ok on the other core) - H/W attached will be OVHD

    PC2 - AMD64 4000 - PM GC (PFD,ND & EICAS) + MCP - H/W attached will be MIP/MCP/EFIS

    PC3 - AMD64 3000 - PM CDU + Active SKy - H/W attached will be FMC/CDU, TQ & Pedestal.

    All will be connected via WideFS

    Regards
    Mike

  10. #10
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    11
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi

    Here my set up

    No1: Fs-TQ drivers (Quad 6600)
    No2: Cp PFD/ND (with splitter for Fo side) (P4 2.66)
    No3: Upper Eicas (P4 2.4)
    No4: Lower Eicas (Cel 950)
    No5: Mcp + Cdu (P4 3.4)
    No6: AS 6.5 + PM Sounds + FDC + Netop (Notebook)

    Everything works through FSUIPC and WIDECLIENT

    Dimos

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Project Magenta and FDS CDU
    By docmeister in forum General Builder Questions All Aircraft Types
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 03:08 PM
  2. Project Magenta
    By jelugs in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2010, 06:27 AM
  3. 757 with Project Magenta
    By fuerteventura in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-06-2009, 02:54 PM
  4. AST & Project Magenta together
    By mguerreiro in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 08:26 AM
  5. Project Magenta and PSS
    By cbaye in forum PM and FS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2007, 09:42 PM