Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    561
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    SoftTH - A software alternative to TH2G

    Not sure I saw anyone mention this, but there is a software solution to the TH2G out that is free. Here is a quote from another thread I posted to on it:

    Quote Originally Posted by BHawthorne View Post
    Another option I'd like to mention is SoftTH. It's a TH2G, but done free via software. It has more resolution possibilities than the TH2G does too. You can mix and match 16:9 and 5:4 and different resolution screens with SoftTH. Only downside is it's a software solution and not hardware, hence it's gonna be slightly slower than TH2G. If you have one of those new PCIe 2.0 mobos with good cards I wouldn't think you'll notice much difference though.

    SoftTH: http://www.kegetys.net/SoftTH/
    How it works: http://www.kegetys.net/SoftTH/diagram.png
    SoftTH Forum: http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?board=1.0

    Youtube also has a few examples of SoftTH in use, just search SoftTH.

  2. #2
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    561
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Here is a proof-of-concept example of me using both TH2G and SoftTH at the same time in the same game:

    5X Dell P1110 TH2G+SoftTH 6400x1024:


    DAoC MMORPG at 6400x1024: (Too bad DAoC is a -vert FOV game)


    Info on how I did this:
    SoftTH Forums: http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?topic=84.0
    WSGF Forums: http://www.widescreengamingforum.com...ic.php?t=12358

    I probably could of also added in the overhead projector in the proof-of-concept with the last free video port, but it wasn't a part of what I was testing at that moment.

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    52
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi

    Im really impressed with your demo rig there. Looking at the SoftTH site it sounds like FSX doesn`t play very nicely with it. However, do you know if it is any good with FS9? Have you had a chance to run any Flight Sims on it yet?

    My pit is being built on FS9 and I am looking at options around the visual system

    Thanks

    James
    CH Yoke
    CH Pedals
    2 Saitek TQ`s
    Opencockpits multiradio
    GF LGT + T8
    BU0386x and custom autopilot control panel
    Basic pedestal and mip for generic GA sim in progress..

  4. #4
    10+ Posting Member Arry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Calpe, Spain
    Posts
    10
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,

    is there anybody, who succeded in having work FSX with SOFTTH ?

    As I have deleted all the FS9 from my computers, it would be nice, to try it with FSX.
    Unfortunately I wasn't successful.


    Happy landigns

    Arry

  5. #5
    500+ This must be a daytime job BHawthorne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    561
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I'm mostly a MMO gamer. I've not tried it with any sims yet. I've been following sims for awhile now, just not gotten into using them much yet.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Maybe anyone could try this with Fs and let us know how it performs

  7. #7
    75+ Posting Member Paul Thomas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sotra. Norway
    Posts
    79
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Wink

    This looks like something real interesting, well worth looking deeper into.

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    183
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It still have problems with FSX, but i don't know if FS9 works i will gonna try it tomorrow.

  9. #9
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If the mouse is an issue then Wideview outside view pc might be the solution.

    On the other hand : I uses one monitor for everything and when flying I uses a KVm switch to transfer though my DualHea2Go to my 2 projectors ( unfortunately Vista does not support expanded desktops )

    So for me a mouse on one monitor would be enough.

  10. #10
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Arry, your signature pic looks great, do you have anymore in the gallery?

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TH2G + LCD Televisions
    By Skylane in forum Video Interfacing and Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-24-2010, 11:14 AM
  2. SoftTH with 5 monitors FSX
    By ArmchairAviator in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-08-2010, 08:18 AM
  3. TH2G for two monitors?
    By choffmann in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2009, 07:09 PM
  4. Span or TH2G, FSXpand etc
    By shearder in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-24-2009, 03:47 PM
  5. TH2G Needed?
    By coolmanak in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2008, 02:46 AM