Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: switches?

  1. #1
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    portland Oregon
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    switches?

    I have been simming for about 2 years now and have decided to finally start adding on to my system. I'd like to start with just adding general switches but dont know the best rought to go. Ive seen a bunch of articles around the net but after reading them Im more confused on my direction. Is there an article out there that says "THIS IS WHAT YOU DO" ? Id also like to make it myself. Thanks for the input

    Brenton

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member Goose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    64
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Are you thinking about Switches with back light and indicator light?
    Like this one:

    There are only two types of airplanes that matters. Old and new Airbus...
    Current projects: Developing of new VA, CNC router and A320 flightdeck.

  3. #3
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    portland Oregon
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yes

    I am thinking of switches like that. The ones that are backlit. Also, rocker switches.

    Brenton

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member Goose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    64
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    If you want to have a switch with indicator light but not back light (picture above(white color indicator, orange back light), then you can buy a simple switch at ex. www.mouser.com

    But If you want to have a switch with both indicator and back light lights, then you have to build one.

    You can find a building tips here: http://home.hccnet.nl/jwopdenakker/building%20tip.html or you can use a similar solution that i am going to use.

    Like this:

    What i am going to use there is a 15mm plexi sheet, that i cut in small pieces with a size of a switch.
    For example: the AP1 switch on A320 FCU is 17x17mm then I am going to cut a small piece out of plexi sheet with size 17x17mm.
    This will give me a small plexi cube: 17x17x15mm
    The rest is like shown in a building guide a linked to.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    There are only two types of airplanes that matters. Old and new Airbus...
    Current projects: Developing of new VA, CNC router and A320 flightdeck.

  5. #5
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    portland Oregon
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I understand the general idea of switches... I guess im asking how to interface them with my computer and fsx.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member Goose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    64
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    AAA you did not mention it in you post. sorry.
    There are only two types of airplanes that matters. Old and new Airbus...
    Current projects: Developing of new VA, CNC router and A320 flightdeck.

  7. #7
    10+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SYDNEY,AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    22
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Brenton,

    Go to www.opencockpits.com & have a read of this site.It explains connecting a switch
    via a Printed Circuit Board to your computer.After studying it come back here & tell me what you think.There is too much Info for me to explain.

    Chris B.

  8. #8
    150+ Forum Groupie Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    CANADA
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Brenton Hill View Post
    I have been simming for about 2 years now and have decided to finally start adding on to my system. I'd like to start with just adding general switches but dont know the best rought to go. Ive seen a bunch of articles around the net but after reading them Im more confused on my direction. Is there an article out there that says "THIS IS WHAT YOU DO" ? Id also like to make it myself. Thanks for the input

    Brenton
    Some good reading here.

    http://www.mycockpit.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10872
    http://www.thefreeemoticons.info/images/flags/smilies0949.gif

  9. #9
    Our new friend needs to reach 10 posts to get to the next flight level
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    portland Oregon
    Posts
    8
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    :)

    Thanks for the help.. I now know I will be getting a KE-72 emulator.

Similar Threads

  1. EEC Switches AFT OVH
    By Tony in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 12:26 PM
  2. Switches?
    By Drewsta in forum I/O Interfacing Hardware and Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-21-2008, 10:06 AM
  3. switches and more switches...
    By Jackpilot in forum Cockpit Parts and Motion Platforms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 05:18 PM
  4. Toggle switches to momentary switches?
    By Patrik in forum Where to Start Building a Home Cockpit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-23-2007, 09:58 AM
  5. AML switches
    By imported_Nihad in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-12-2005, 06:33 AM