Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    No autoland on 747

    Hi all,

    Today I made my first flight after having upgraded my server to Vista.
    I use FSX.

    I did a flight from Amsterdam to Monastir.
    The idea was to land on rw 07.

    At about 25 miles I intercepted the localizer and the aircraft alligened perfectly. I got a VORLOC.
    I came in at 2500 ft ( 20 miles away ).

    Runway 07 ( 109.90 / 73 degrees ) I tuned into the CDU Appr.
    I also set 73 degrees and 109.90 on the Navrad page.
    The ILS id was in the Nav display.

    At 15 miles away I heard the ILS.
    However when pusshing Appr I got the message No autoland.

    Anyone of you guys ( and girls ) who could give me a hint about what I did wrong ?

  2. #2
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IJmuiden, Netherlands
    Posts
    87
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Gerard,

    check:
    FDs on
    Both APs engaged
    Both Navs to same ILS frequency
    Both QNH set the same
    Approach mode selected
    (in theory but not implemented) CRS inbound ILS course selected.


    did you have autolands in FS9?

    regards
    (groeten)

    Norbert Bosch

  3. #3
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    43
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    After setting nav2 also to the ils frequency it worked like a charm.

    Regarsds,
    Gerard

  4. #4
    75+ Posting Member Olympic260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    79
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by npbosch View Post
    Both Navs to same ILS frequency
    If I am not mistaken the 747-400 does not have this prerequisit for an autoland. The ILS freq is set by the FMC box directly and not via the Nav boxes. The nav boxes can be set to any VOR freq you want regalrdles the ILS freq.
    Chris

  5. #5
    150+ Forum Groupie michelmvd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oostende - Belgium
    Posts
    223
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Chris,
    Well in the real one there is a lot more than that to check, but in order to preform an autoland in a PM B744, all three autopilots must be on when full establized on ILS, plus ILS freq must be tuned and confirmed in both NAV's. ILS'es are normally autotuned by FMC (real life), but can be set manually by syntax XXX.XX/XXX

    In the real there is certainly also not an indication in the PFD if an autoland can't be preformed. If an autoland failed, you will have aural warning and EICAS indication. All warning (red), caution (amber) and memo (white) messages are displayed in the EICAS upper display. Status messages are displayed in lower EICAS panel.
    Nevertheless most of these things are not yet simulated in PM for the B744 and other advanced boeingstypes (B777-767). A lot of these messages can be programmed in PMSystem if you know how to do it.

    B. rgds
    Michel
    _______________________________________________
    Michel VANDAELE
    msn : michelmvd@hotmail.com
    website B744 : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele/sim1.htm
    general website : users.telenet.be/michel.vandaele
    my spaces: http://michelmvd.spaces.live.com/
    email : michelmvd@hotmail.com

Similar Threads

  1. Autoland with CDU?
    By Tarzan737 in forum PM Boeing FMC/CDU
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 07:36 AM
  2. No autoland
    By npbosch in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-10-2007, 08:29 AM
  3. Autoland Problem
    By rob747 in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-04-2007, 02:04 PM
  4. Autoland with PM 737
    By Hans Krohn in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 02:54 AM
  5. Re: Autoland Problems
    By Enrico Schiratti in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-14-2006, 10:00 AM