Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    How Many Monitors?

    I have a dell dimention computer 5150. I want to idealy have around 3 more monitors connected up to the current one to display instruments on the MIP etc. Could you tellme if this is possible and the maximum amount you can have just running on one computer.

    Thanks in advance

    gez

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Take a look on the back of the PC - how any graphics card outputs are there?

    Most will have 2 - so you can attach a monitor to each.

    Or you can buy a TripleHead2go device which provides 3 monitor outputs.

    David.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  3. #3
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    yeah, mine has 2 output does this then mean i can attach 2 more monitors to the current one totaling 3?

    Also the triple head to go does that only work with scenery could i display instruments on it?

  4. #4
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    This is a great topic for Westozzy
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  5. #5
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by 737 Gez View Post
    yeah, mine has 2 output does this then mean i can attach 2 more monitors to the current one totaling 3?

    Also the triple head to go does that only work with scenery could i display instruments on it?
    Well if it has 2 outputs, is the current monitor not already using one of them ?? (If not, then I guess you have 3 outputs no ??).

    Basically, you can attach as many monitors as you have outputs on your graphics card. On a standard modern graphics card like I said this is usually 2.

    But you can also install a 2nd graphics card that can feed seperate monitors, or you can get TH2GO which splits 3 outputs out of on of your PCs output.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  6. #6
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Thanks- yes i have 2 outputs with one already filled by the current monitor. So i will probably go for the triplehead2go option.

    As i asked will the matrox TH2G Display anything of your choice not just have to be the scenery. I would need it for the instruments?

    gez

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie andarlite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    282
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Use it however you like.... instruments, scenery, other.

    Regards,
    Henry

  8. #8
    Executive Assistant Geremy Britton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    North,East England
    Posts
    1,574
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    cheers for your help - and a happy christmas to you all!

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Geremy - yes anything as Henry said, but it is not so good with 2D panels as they get stretched a lot! Virtual cockpits are great with it, as is scenery!

    Cheers,

    David
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

Similar Threads

  1. 3 monitors
    By John Patty in forum Westozy's Mechanical Engineering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 09:29 AM
  2. Two Monitors for GC
    By vybhav in forum PM Boeing GC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-30-2010, 10:32 AM
  3. EIGHT MONITORS on one PC!!!!!!!!
    By manhattan in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 08:21 PM
  4. USB to VGA MONITORS!!!
    By manhattan in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-05-2008, 10:35 AM
  5. Monitors
    By Petex1 in forum Cockpit Outside Visualization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-28-2007, 03:59 PM