Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    an A320 MIP is born!

    First shot of my A32X MIP. The MIP frame is temporary - the full MIP frame assembly will be completed and in place by middle of next week (about Fri 14th Dec).

    As always, this is a poor photo - glare on the PFD, wonky angle, etc, etc (I have never taken a good pic yet!).

    You can see the AST PFD and ND in place in the pic - wonderful software! (although the monitor is not positioned correctly in this pic..

    http://www.mycockpit.org/photopost/s...php?photo=2087

    It's great to be on track again!
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  2. #2
    Executive Vice President, MyCockpit


    Matt Olieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ocala, FL USA
    Posts
    3,163
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Nice job David, looks great. Nice feeling huh?

    Thanks for sharing your progress

  3. #3
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    304
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah nice job! You said you used 17" LCDs for the PFD-ND displays, right? I will soon have my MIP too and will have to provision monitors...

    I do intend to have the standby instruments functional (even though this means sacrificing the Terrain on ND switch, I guess). BTW, has the AST software the "terrain" feature incorporated?

    Thanks for sharing !!
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Luis,

    The PFD / ND have a 17" widescreen monitor (it must be widescreen!).

    The upper and lower system displays require a standard 19" or widesceen 19" , depending on your choices for standby gauges.

    AST Terrain - I think so but I don't have the full suite yet and haven't tested terrain. check out www.airsimtech.com

    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    It looks great David. Man, those are some BIG instruments.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    300+ Forum Addict luisgordo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    304
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    David,

    As far as the ECAM area is concerned, 19" Widescreen LCD to include the standby instruments, and 19" standard if you don't want them included?

    Thanks.
    Luis Gordo
    Instructor StationTM - www.iStationGordo.com

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Looks good------ for an Air Bus! LOL

  8. #8
    MyCockpit Support Staff


    Westozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    1,493
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by 737NUT View Post
    Looks good------ for an Air Bus! LOL
    Lol, it looks like the cross to the dark side has been completed. I wish I could have afforded that Engravity CDU, oh well, one day...

    Gwyn

    737NG using Prosim737, Immersive Calibration Pro, Aerosim Solutions motorized TQ & cockpit hardware, CP Flight MCP & FDS SYS1X, SYS2X & SYS4X, FDS PRO FMCs, AFDS units & Glarewings, Matrix Orbital ELEC display, Pokeys Landing & Cruise alt display, Buttkicker Gamers, 3 x BenqMW811ST projectors with a Matrox Th2Go
    http://www.aerosimsolutions.com.au
    Supporter of MyCockpit.org, please join me in donating!!!

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict David Rogers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Durham (The original!), England
    Posts
    418
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by luisgordo View Post
    David,

    As far as the ECAM area is concerned, 19" Widescreen LCD to include the standby instruments, and 19" standard if you don't want them included?

    Thanks.
    Hola Luis,

    I think a 'standard' (4:3) 19" will be better alroung for ECAM. A widescreen in more narrow and I think it will cut off the standby gauges. A standard 19" is taller (remember that the ECAM monitor goes on it's side) so will be better for standby instruments.

    My advice would be to order monitors once you have constructed your MIP frame and have the MIP panels....... that way you can be sure.

    There is so much advice about monitors and A320 panels out there! It is safer to wait until you have your panels ready to measure. Entiende?

    David.
    David R
    Durham, England

    1979 Mooney M20J Cockpit builder ......

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor


    OmniAtlas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,700
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Re: an A320 MIP is born!

    I know this thread is years old, but...does anyone know what angle your LCDS have to be at in relation to the MIP?

    I know 737 are at a 15 degree incline...but how about the A320?