Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Gf-tq6

  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Gf-tq6

    I've just ordered a GF-TQ6. Anyone else using it? If so what's your opinion?
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  2. #2
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Well, since youve already ordered, it wont matter since you will know yourself soon!~

    However, I am considering ordering the RMK for it for the TQ on my Learjet sim.

    Let us know what you think!
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  3. #3
    Tim
    Guest
    Works well for me. Only complaint is the lack of a detent stop for engine idle.

    I have the throttles assigned and calibrated (max, idle, and reverse) via FSUIPC, not FS or GF Config. I have to be very careful not to pull the throttles into reverse when idling the engines.

    I'm sure there are more realistic looking quadrants but the GF unit can be configured for many different aircraft throttle configurations.

    Hope this helps,

    Richard

  4. #4
    150+ Forum Groupie sas550's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    236
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim View Post

    I have the throttles assigned and calibrated (max, idle, and reverse) via FSUIPC, not FS or GF Config. I have to be very careful not to pull the throttles into reverse when idling the engines.

    Richard
    Tnx for your reply. How come you're not using the smaller levers for reverse? Should be possible in fsuipc aswell. Not 100% sure though.
    Regards Anders Eriksson


    www.simcockpit.se

    FS9

  5. #5
    Tim
    Guest
    Hi Anders,

    My sim is modeled after a twin turbo prop. The GF levers are assigned to Throttle, Condition, and Mixture. No extra levers available so I just pull the throttle levers full back for reverse.

    Richard

  6. #6
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello,

    I have been using my GF TQ6 for about five years now and I have been enjoying it very much. Becuase it is not the most expensive TQ around, you will find that you need to calibrate it once in a while and also tighten up the lever points once in a great while. (either that or i just use mine beyond manufactured sugggested hours...LOL)
    James Twomey

  7. #7
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Does it come with a MTBO rating?
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  8. #8
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    More and more Im thinking of using the RMK kit for my TQ project coming up soon. I had planned on using the pots out of an old usb joystick for the project but Im not so sure now since they are rotary and most of you guys seem to suggest using slider pots for TQ's.

    Quick question- on the GoFlight TQ6 rmk (http://www.goflightinc.com/order/pro...products_id=66)

    What kind and where do you get the slider pots from?
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I used a commercial-grade Panasonic linear taper 100mm slide pot.

    They were bought off of e-bay. I think Digi-Key may still carry them, but Mouser does not.

    When I get home from work tonight I'll check the extra I have and see if there is a part number on it.

    You'll eliminate the use of gears with the slide pots. You just have to have the right geometry to get nearly the full throw out of the pot. The longer the throw you have, the more precise your power settings can be.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor Tomlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Waycross, GA
    Posts
    1,188
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Boeing Skunk Works View Post

    You'll eliminate the use of gears with the slide pots. You just have to have the right geometry to get nearly the full throw out of the pot. The longer the throw you have, the more precise your power settings can be.
    This makes it worth it to me, I'd say!

    Thanks for that input!
    Eric Tomlin-
    Learjet 45 Builder
    www.flightlevel180.org

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast