Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    FS 9 Crashes!!!!!!!!!

    Hi,

    Have a real serious problem - not sure what it is related to so here's a quick rundown.

    Basic setup is A8N-E mobo, EVGNvidia 7800 GT, Igb RAM, 240 HD, Windows XP - all less than 18 months old - no problems with other software etc.

    Having been using the same set-up for the past year - no problems. Running FS2004, PMDG Series, Ground Env Pro, Active Sky and a few airports with AES. Fly the PMDG 800 99% of the time.

    A couple of weeks ago FS crashed - normal flight then the screen froze, went black and the sound started to stutter. Reloaded and the same thing happened again at a different place in the flight. Tried several times but same thing happened at different stages of flight - nothing that I could identify as a "trigger"

    Have uninstalled and re-installed everything 3 times and still get the same problem. This last time I checked it out, loaded up a 172 and flew it in a circuit without a problem, then loaded the PMDG 800 and lo and behold, the damn thing crashed - take off ok, climb ok, had just turned base leg and screen froze, then went black and the sound started to stutter.

    Only thing I haven't looked at is the graphics card although all the latest drivers are installed and the accard is less than a year old.

    Would appreciate any thoughts or advice as to a solution.

    Many Thanks

    Rob

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Did you recently update the drivers to your Video Card or any Drivers at all. If you did make sure you uninstalled the previous version of the dirvers. or you might want to goto the restore point and go back to the time when everything was good. If you did not have a restore point saved try unistalling the drivers you recently installed and going back to the driver version that you previously had.

    Of course this is assuming you updated any of your drivers.
    Mike G.

  3. #3
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Yeah, did all that, even tried going back to a restore point before problems - no difference.

    Rob

  4. #4
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Is there anything that you did recently to the computer like install anything even some type of sotware?
    Mike G.

  5. #5
    Mycockpit, Inc. CTO Deesystems's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Mycockpit,INC Boston Office
    Posts
    290
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    CHK systems logs

    Do you have windows update setup to auto install ??

    2 weeks ago,, MS did a big update and changed some core files.

    Dee

  6. #6
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Heat!

    My old system did everything you describe and I tried every fix I could think of and nothing would fix this problem.

    When I moved the system out to the shop where it's cooler, I removed the side door and put a 22" box fan about a foot away from the case.

    Problem fixed. And it never happened again.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  7. #7
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    You beat me to it BSW.
    Open it up and vaccum it out. If its really clean, you need a way bigger fan or a better cooling system for it.
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

  8. #8
    300+ Forum Addict BlackWidow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tehacahpi CA, USA
    Posts
    498
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    LOL that was my next train of thought HEAT
    Mike G.

  9. #9
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    278
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    I have auto updates and the timing is about right. Will vacuum it out but the temp probe on the card is just under 50 and has been for a long time. Still wonder why it works ok with the 172 - any thoughts on that?

    Thanks for the replies, any other ideas would be appreciated.

    Rob

  10. #10
    1000+ Poster - Fantastic Contributor AndyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Oahu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1,392
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The number 1 killer of PCs is HEAT, always has been. Its normally caused by a couple of things.

    1. Dirt buildup inside the case on the components.
    2. Jumbled wiring inside blocking the flow of air.
    3. Wimpy cooling systems.

    Think back to the day when big companies had to have special air conditioned rooms to keep the machines running. Still the same problem, just cheaper solutions. Or you could always bolt it to the front of an air con unit...
    God's in command, I'm just the Pilot.
    http://www.geocities.com/andytulenko/

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. FS9 crashes to desktop
    By ryanf in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004 (FS9)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 04:15 PM
  2. FSX Crashes
    By dmoblay in forum General Microsoft Flight Simulator 10 (FSX)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 08:43 AM
  3. TV chopper crashes
    By Spatate in forum Pilots Lounge - Let your Hair down
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 08:47 AM
  4. Application Crashes
    By richard hutchinson in forum Computer Hardware Setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-30-2009, 01:01 PM
  5. FS2Phidgets crashes
    By gokhotit in forum FS2Phidget Users
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-27-2005, 03:17 PM