Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    4
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Electromagnetic release switch?

    Hey guys, i'm brand new to this site and have a question about electromagnetic release switches.

    I've seen the videos on the PM site with the engine start and A/T switches. I have looked high and low for info on how do make something like that work, but for the life of me, i can't find anything about it.

    Does anyone have any info on how to set that up? (or a link to a company that sells the e-mag switches)

    I can understand how the A/T switch works, because the button on the throttles can control the release of the switch. But i'm kinda confused as to the engine start switch. Does that get an input from the software? Or is there some kind of timer function on it, so once you turn it to "start", it will wait a few seconds before releasing?

    Any info you guys can give me is greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,
    ~Dave Stankiewicz

  2. #2
    300+ Forum Addict



    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    406
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Dave,

    There are several types of these switches. They variously go by the names "magnetically maintained", "magnetically held" and "magnetically latched" switches. Honeywell/Micro Switch makes toggle versions. I believe Eaton makes a rotary type. Fundamentally, these are switches that can be held in a spring-return momentary position by a magnetic solenoid. Cut power to the solenoid and the spring pops the switch out of the momentary position.

    In an engine start application, the switch is put into the start position and the starter motor begins to spin the turbine (actually this has been used on piston engines as well). When the engine passes a threshold RPM the starter switch is automatically released. Alternatively, if the threshold is not reached within a certain amount of time, the switch is released.

    Magnetically held toggle switches show up on Ebay from time to time. A very few (one, maybe?) magnetically held rotary switches have as well. A year ago or so, someone posted on Avsim details of his DIY version rotary eng start switch.

    As far as making a physical magnetically held switch work with a sim, it will depend on the sim and the aircraft model. You will need both an input and an output. The input communicates the switch position to the sim application while the ouput will be used to power the solenoid. If the A/C model includes the proper variable for the solenoid, use it to drive the output. Otherwise you'll have to write some additional code to infer or simulate its position to drive the output. If you're using FS9 you need FSUIPC to get access to the sim variables. If using FSX, use SimConnect.

  3. #3
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    The Sperry SP-50 and -150 autopilot system control head uses two solenoid held toggle switches, two magnetically held toggles, and one magnetically held rotary switch.

    When 28VDC power is interupted from the AP disconnect on the yoke all switches are released. That is a normally closed pushbutton switch.

    You can find solenoids on a google search. They can be used to imitate a magnetically held switch if you can't find any at a reasonable price. You probably won't because as Mike said, they are scarce.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  4. #4
    Great price. Snap one up. Holds with only 12v
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Aircr...spagenameZWDVW


    http://www.flamecorp.com/pdf_files/ettoggle_7.pdf

    Phidgets software and relay card to control it.

    Sorry for not giving more info right now, but I have to go.

    Gary

  5. #5
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Exact same toggles on the Sperry control heads right down to the wiring schematic on the case and the color.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

  6. #6
    500+ This must be a daytime job
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    rotterdam, the Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    898
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by dave4002000 View Post
    I can understand how the A/T switch works, because the button on the throttles can control the release of the switch. But i'm kinda confused as to the engine start switch. Does that get an input from the software? Or is there some kind of timer function on it, so once you turn it to "start", it will wait a few seconds before releasing?

    here is some nice info on constructing your own engine start switches:

    http://www.hanskrohn.com/BuildingTip...tartSwitch.htm

    Stef
    www.boeing737ng.com
    ___________________________
    The Dutch 737 Simulator Project

  7. #7
    500+ This must be a daytime job 737NUT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    778
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Gsey View Post
    Great price. Snap one up. Holds with only 12v
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Aircr...spagenameZWDVW


    http://www.flamecorp.com/pdf_files/ettoggle_7.pdf

    Phidgets software and relay card to control it.

    Sorry for not giving more info right now, but I have to go.

    Gary
    WOW!!!!!!!!!! 70.00!!!!

    Glad i saved 3 for future use in my sim. I paid 30.00 for 3 of mine!

    I think some of these reseller's are a little out of the loop expecting these kind of prices on a used non-airworthy part! Problem is, simmers with more cash than brains are driving the prices up!
    Rob

  8. #8
    No simmer is driving the price of these up. Just because you were able to be at the right place at the right time doesnt mean every simmer is going to be as lucky. Ive been lucky with plenty of purchases Ive made but never will you here me say that some of us guys have no brains just because we are willing to pay alittle bit more to get items that are hard to come by if you dont have the right contacts. What you said stands true for alot of sellers and thats why you will see most items that are way overpriced on the market for quite some time. $70 for an used electromagnetic switch isnt bad at all considering the list price for these things.


    Gary

  9. #9
    2000+ Poster - Never Leaves the Sim Michael Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Illinois, USA
    Posts
    3,147
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    And their rarity on the consumer market.

    My Sperry AP is an example of a great price on a rare item. Never have seen another Mk IV since purchasing mine. Took a month to pay for it but it was worth every penny.
    Boeing Skunk Works
    Remember...140, 250, and REALLY FAST!

    We don't need no stinkin' ETOPS!



    Powered by FS9 & BOEING

Similar Threads

  1. New Product Release
    By W9XE/Project777 in forum MyCockpit News and Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2008, 07:59 PM
  2. New Product Release
    By W9XE/Project777 in forum MyCockpit News and Announcements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-2008, 08:28 PM
  3. Re: which release of fsuipc
    By Katy Pluta in forum PM General Q & A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2004, 05:46 PM