Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36
  1. #1
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Autothrotlle and PM-MCP

    Hello

    I have make some test with the autothrottle and i have notice a strange behavior of the lever when is moving.

    In flight engage the A/T switch
    Lets say the Offset $088C (Is the left lever) takes a value 11,500 , THEN starting slowly decent until 6.000 or 7.000 value (the decent time is 5-7 sec) and THEN JUMPS in 1 second to a value close to 11,500.
    And this continues all the time.

    THE LEVER IS NOT STABLE.
    the lever goes up and down.

    Now, if i don`t use the PM-MCP and use the default MCP from the fs9 or the fsx everything working perfect.

    i use the DC motor from OpenCockpit with SIOC code.

    I don`t know if i explain my problem good.
    I am not so good in English.

    Regards
    Lambis

  2. #2
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Again

    Only me have this Problem?

    The Throttles are not stable when the airplane is in climb take-off mode especially when i use V/S
    The lever are slowly down and then jump fast up again.
    In the CRUISE mode is better.
    With the FLCH there is not exist this problem.


    When i remove the Project magenta MCP and use the default MCP of fs everything are stable.

    Is something wrong communicate the fs with mcp?
    Need to change something in FSUIPC?

    Same behavior and with FS9 and with the Fsx.
    With and without SIOC.

    Regards
    Lambis

  3. #3
    75+ Posting Member James Twomey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Port Orchard Wa, U.S.
    Posts
    129
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello Lambis


    Yes i have a simular problem. What kind Of MCP are you using with PM systems? I have been using CP Flight and PM MCP with FSX.

    I have been trying to figure out why it does this without any success so far.
    James Twomey

  4. #4
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi James

    I use the real B777 MCP panel with SIOC code with the cards from Open cockpits and Magenta MCP software and fsx.

    But i think the problem is in the MCP software becuase when i fly with the default A/P of fsx and don`t use the Magenta MCP the lever are very very stable.
    Same and in the fs9.

    When run again the Magenta MCP the lever starting the slowly down and the fast up movement.

    Is very strange why other people never report this behavior or never notice this.

    Can report the other simmers this behavior of the A/T.
    Is a bug or is something that must check in the ini files.

    Regards
    Lambis

  5. #5
    75+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    120
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi,

    I don't know if it is related but the airbus FCU A/T is very quirky like this also.

    It is especially unstable on take-off and climb - takes far too long for appropriate take-off thrust to be selected (never mind the normal spool-up delay) and the speed is often allowed to go a good 20 knots above or below the selected speed before the A/T "wakes-up" and corrects the thrust.

    I often see the little bug on the N1 thrust dial move up and down very fast as if the A/T is getting confused as to what the correct commanded thrust should be.

    Also, the flight director often commands extreme pitch angles during take-off / climb-out phase.

    So, these kind of PM bugs seem to be very common.

    regards,
    Ryan.

  6. #6
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hello

    Can Jonathan or Thomas tell us why this happen?
    Is a bug of A/T?
    Enrico knows this problem?

    Regards
    Lambis

  7. #7
    150+ Forum Groupie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK / Germany
    Posts
    174
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Autothrottle and PM-MCP

    >Can Jonathan or Thomas tell us why this happen?
    Is a bug of A/T? Enrico knows this problem?

    Hi

    I would start looking at your MCP cycle time - the recommended setting is between 50-70 to be set in the MCP ini *but* this is entirely system dependent. Too high a number and you might miss bits of information, too low and the same in reverse. There is an optimal and you should look at this per system. I have a setting of 30ms here in the simulator. I have 100% rock steady AT ops. Speed is within + / - 3kts whilst AP and AT are engaged. I do not use V/S as a level chance very much but have not noticed anything recently with that but will re-check. The other factor in this (and related to the above) is the network speed / and or errors of course. Make sure your FS framerate is not something that can not be sustained leaving no time for network / MCP.

    Further to this, check your flight model, make sure it is balanced correctly (but from what people have said it seems this would not be the issue here). Do your tests with no wind or adverse weather - for obvious reasons.

    Then I would move to the CDU / MAINT / AT pages. Here you can alter the effectiveness of the AT - norm is 100 - and if you mess around with this go gently - you will have to perfrom many tests to see if / what is effecting things. Unfortunately there is no documentation for these settings. I'm sorry about that, but that is the way that part is. Generally it should not need touching. I think if you play with values up to 120 // 140% you might see the effects. Again, this I would say is secondary, and should not be required - don't open a can of worms for yourselves with this unless you are 100% sure of the first part being correct. I think if you are see big changes or "hunting" of the AT it is more likely to be network or cycle time related.

    Regards
    Jonathan Richardson


    Regards
    Lambis[/QUOTE]
    Jonathan Richardson

  8. #8
    25+ Posting Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Kavala, Greece
    Posts
    67
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Hi Jonathan

    Today morning i have make a test and i change the values in the MCP cycle time.
    I give values from 30 to 70 and the bevavior of the A/T is the same.

    I make test without CDU.
    The frames or the fs are up to 40.
    I use the FS and the MCP in the same computer (no network).
    I use different aircrafts.
    All they have same behaviour. The lever go up and down.

    If I stop the Project magenta MCP and use the defualt MCP of the fs the A/T is stable.
    Something is bother the A/T.

    Can i send you any log file maybe you undestand what is going wrong?
    From FSUIPC? from MCP? My MCP.ini ?

    Regards
    Lambis

  9. #9
    300+ Forum Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    341
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Lambis777 View Post
    Hi Jonathan

    Today morning i have make a test and i change the values in the MCP cycle time.
    I give values from 30 to 70 and the bevavior of the A/T is the same.

    I make test without CDU.
    The frames or the fs are up to 40.
    I use the FS and the MCP in the same computer (no network).
    I use different aircrafts.
    All they have same behaviour. The lever go up and down.

    If I stop the Project magenta MCP and use the defualt MCP of the fs the A/T is stable.
    Something is bother the A/T.

    Can i send you any log file maybe you undestand what is going wrong?
    From FSUIPC? from MCP? My MCP.ini ?

    Regards
    Lambis
    What hardware do you use for MCP?
    Regards
    Thomas

  10. #10
    300+ Forum Addict oal331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    398
    Contribute If you enjoy reading the
    content here, click the below
    image to support MyCockpit site.
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    Quote Originally Posted by Lambis777 View Post
    Hello

    Can Jonathan or Thomas tell us why this happen?
    Is a bug of A/T?
    Enrico knows this problem?

    Regards
    Lambis
    Hi Lambis,

    did you sent a private email to PM's support?

    If any answer from support, please post it here, so you also know.

    Regards


    Eddie
    Last edited by oal331; 01-20-2008 at 05:56 AM. Reason: Sorry i didn't saw the replies from Jonathan and Thomas

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast